Showing posts with label Kiel. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Kiel. Show all posts

More Sites in Northern Germany

Schleswig-Holstein

Friedrichsruh
Bismark's mausoleum at Friedrichsruh castle May 1, 1924 and today
Hitler visiting the site. On February 13 1939 Hitler left Berlin for Friedrichsruh where he placed a wreath at Bismarck’s grave. This deferential act evidently was to prepare him spiritually for the festivities at that day's launching in Hamburg of The Bismarck. The following communiqué was released regarding Hitler’s visit:
 While journeying to Hamburg, the Führer stopped on Monday at Friedrichsruh, where he placed a laurel wreath at the tomb of Prince Otto von Bismarck, the Chancellor of the Old Reich. Thereafter, the Führer was the guest of Prince von Bismarck and his wife,202 at the Friedrichsruh Castle. On both arrival and departure, the population of Friedrichsruh and the surrounding countryside enthusiastically acclaimed the Führer, whom they had observed in deeply moved silence in the solemn act of placing the wreath at the grave.
How revealing is Baron von Weizsäcker’s private note on the Führer’s fireside remarks after an intimate meal at the Bismarck shrine at Friedrichsruh on that day, February 13: For those of us who know that the rest of Czecho-Slovakia will be dealt its death blow in approximately four weeks’ time, it was interesting to hear the Führer declare that he himself used to prefer surprise tactics but has now gone off them as he has exhausted their possibilities. The Führer sketched out the September crisis of last year thus: ‘I owe my triumph to my unflinching stand, which left the other side with a whiff of war if I felt it necessary.’
Irving (156) Hitler's War
Kiel (Schleswig)

Kiel was the site of the sailors' mutiny which sparked the German Revolution in late 1918. Just before the end of World War I, the German fleet stationed at Kiel was ordered to be sent out on a last great battle with the Royal Navy. The sailors, who thought of this as a suicide mission which would have no effect on the outcome of the war, decided they had nothing to lose and refused to leave the safety of the port. The sailors' actions and the lack of response of the government to them, fuelled by an increasingly critical view of the Kaiser, sparked a revolution which caused the abolition of the monarchy and the creation of the Weimar Republic.

 
The town hall and theatre on Adolf-Hitler-Platz and today, rathausplatz.
 
The war memorial, dating 1879 
 
Laboe Naval Memorial was completed by the Nazis in 1936 after Hitler had observed the naval manoeuvres in Kiel and watched a parade from the light battleship Grille before inspecting the German shipyards. At a ceremony commemorating the dead of the Great War on the twentieth anniversary of the Battle of Skagerrak (May 31, 1916), Hitler attended the dedication of the memorial and laid a wreath honouring the navy’s dead. In fact, Hitler did not like the U-boat monument in Laboe at all; in one conversation he called it “an unrivalled essay in kitsch and bad taste, as it stands there with its inverted bow.” Doramus (1310) The Complete Hitler
The tower itself is 72 metres high with an observation deck near the top. There is also a large, underground memorial room and a museum detailing the history of the German Navy which had been originally dedicated to the German naval war dead of the First World War. In the 1950s it was converted to a memorial for sailors of all nationalities who died in the World Wars and the right photo shows the memorial to those who had served in the Second World War.
Adolf-Hitler-Schanze with the memorial U.-Boots Ehrenmal. Located on the east shore of Kiel Bay, the U-boat Memorial at Möltenort is to the memory of submariners who lost their lives. The reichsadler is by Fritz Schmoll, responsible for others seen on this site. The swastika can be seen to have been replaced by a nondescript device. The photo on the left shows its inauguration in 1938.
 
Horst-Wessel-Park is now  called Werftpark 

The ruins of the Nikolaikirche and today
 
The Flandernbunker in 1944 and today
 
The Dietrichsdorfer fire station also in 1944 and its present incarnation
During World War II, Kiel remained one of the major naval bases and shipbuilding centres of the German Reich. There was also a slave labour camp for the local industry. Because of its status as a naval port and as production site for submarines, Kiel was heavily bombed by the Allies during World War II. The bombing destroyed more than 80% of the remaining old town, 72% of the central residential areas, and 83% of the industrial areas. During the RAF bombing of 23/24 July 1944, Luftwaffe fighters tried to intercept the spoof (i.e. decoy) force instead of the main force attacking Kiel, and there was no water for three days; trains and buses did not run for eight days and there was no gas available for cooking for three weeks. There were several bombing raids of the port area during the period 20 February – 20 April 1945 which successfully eliminated many U-Boats, and the few large warships (cruisers Hipper, Scheer, and Koln) still afloat at that time. Although the town was beyond the stop-line set for the western Allies in the German surrender at Lüneburg Heath, it and its port, its scientists, and the canal were seized by a British T-Force led by Major Tony Hibbert on 5 May 1945. This forestalled capture of the town by the Soviets, whom the Allies expected to advance from Germany to Denmark in violation of the Yalta agreement.  Just like other heavily bombed German cities, the city was rebuilt after the war only to now arrive at the stage where a mob of 30 migrants chased three teenage girls, aged 15, 16 and 17, through the Sophienhof mall in Kiel, using their smartphones to film them. They later confronted police officers who they 'insulted' and 'threatened' before being released "due to lack of grounds for detention."    

Quickborn (Schleswig-Holstein)
   
The Red Front marching down Kieler Straße; by 1933 the swastika will be flying beside Schmidts Gasthoffurther down the road.
The Nazis on march
Adolf-Hitler-Straße then and now
The Nationalsozialistischen Kraftfahrerkorps (NSKK)
The Thingplatz then and now, which was a kind of multi-disciplinary outdoor theatre which enjoyed brief popularity in pre-war Germany during the 1930s. A Thingplatz or Thingstätte was a specially-constructed outdoor amphitheatre built for such performances. About 400 were planned, but only about 40 were built between 1933 and 1939.
 
The Church

Flensburg (Schleswig)

The Naval Academy Mürwik (Marineschule Mürwik) in 1941 and today- the main training establishment for all German Navy officers which replaced the German Imperial Naval Academy in Kiel.  It is located at Mürwik which is a part of Germany's most northern city, Flensburg. Built on a small hill directly by the coast, it overlooks the Flensburg Fjord. The main building of the academy is known for its beautiful architecture and location, and is often named the "Red Castle". It had been established at this site by the order of Kaiser Wilhelm II in 1910. Its unique gothic architecture with the dominating red bricks was meant to imitate the castle Ordensburg Marienburg, founded in 1274.  In 1920 Sherwood Foresters were in Flensburg-Mürwik at the Naval Academy Mürwik to supervise the elections to the Schleswig plebiscites. In the final days of War 1945, Grand Admiral Karl Dönitz assumed the office of President (Reichspräsident) of Germany. Adolf Hitler himself had named him his successor before committing suicide at Berlin. Dönitz moved to the Naval Academy at Mürwik. He established on the edge of it, in the sportschool the Flensburg government. Soon after the final surrender to the Allies, they were unseated and arrested by the victorious British troops. This made Flensburg capital of Germany for nearly twenty days.
Three battalions of British troops commanded by Brigadier Churcher surrounded the government’s HQ in the Mürwik Barracks and finally stormed it brandishing sten guns and grenades. The leading minister’s cabinet meeting had just begun. ‘Hände hoch! Ausziehen!’ (Hands up! Strip!) The participants and their secretaries were put against a wall and strip- searched: Dönitz, Jodl and the rest. Schwerin von Krosigk allegedly found a Tommy tugging at his trousers saying, ‘Bitte – please?’, although it is hard to believe that they had any problem communicating with the former Rhodes Scholar. 
MacDonogh (71) After the Reich
Bad Arnis (Schleswig-Holstein)
 
The Schifferhaus then and now. At a population of roughly three hundred and a total area of 0.45 km2, Arnis is the smallest town in Germany both by population and by area.

 Bad Segeberg (Schleswig-Holstein)

The Kalkberg Stadium (German: Kalkbergstadion) is an open-air theatre built in a former quarry on the Segeberger Kalkberg, a rocky outcropping in the centre of Bad Segeberg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany. It was built as a Thingplatz under the Third Reich and since 1952 has been the site of the annual Bad Segeberg Karl May Festival.  After the Nazis came to power, the quarry here was converted into an amphitheatre to be used for mass meetings and multimedia theatrical performances as part of the Thingspiel movement. The theatre was designed by Fritz Schaller of Berlin, and was constructed mostly by the Reich Labour Service beginning on 29 May 1934. The work entailed sealing salt-mining shafts and cavities and bringing in 1,200 tonnes of granite from Silesia as building material, since the anhydrite core of the hill itself is water-soluble. The theatre was dedicated on 10 October 1937 by Joseph Goebbels as the Feierstätte der Nordmark or Nordmark-Feierstätte (Northern March Ceremonial Site); in his speech he expressed the wish it would be a "political church of National Socialism". A performance of Henrik Herse's Die Schlacht der weißen Schiffe took place there, probably in 1938, but after that there were no further performances until the end of the war.

Lübeck (Schleswig Holstein)
The Kanzlergebäude and church adorned with swastikas and today. The two banners behind the swastika appear to be the wolfsangel with a crown-topped sword replacing the cross-bar, the same logo used by the Aryan Nations, a white supremacist organisation founded in 1974 by Richard Girnt Butler whose 'shield' is shown top-right.
Lübeck became the first German city to suffer substantial Royal Air Force bombing during the war. The attack of March 28, 1942 created a firestorm that caused severe damage to the historic centre, destroying three of the main churches and large parts of the built-up area; the bells of St Marienkircke plunged to the stone floor. 
Germany operated a POW camp for officers, Oflag X-C, near the city from 1940 until April 1945. The British Second Army had the glory of entering Lübeck on May 2, 1945, occupying it without any resistance.  
The next day saw one of the greatest disasters in naval history in the Bay of Lübeck when RAF bombers sank three ships- the SS Cap Arcona, the SS Deutschland, and the SS Thielbek - which, unknown to them, were packed with concentration-camp inmates. About 7,000 people died.
 
The rathaus and marktplatz during the Third Reich and today

Leck (Schleswig-Holstein)
 
The Nordmarkschule in Nordfriesland, now called the Nordsee Akademie


 Neustadt in Holstein
The marktplatz with the Hotel Deutsches Haus bedecked in swastikas and today. During the Second World War a subcamp, Number 1049 Neustadt in Holstein/Schleswig-Holstein, of the Neuengamme concentration camp was located in the town. 

Heide (Schleswig)

 
The water tower sporting a swastika and today

Pelzerhaken (Schleswig-Holstein)
This lighthouse on the Baltic was built in 1843 and stands at 19 metres, although the eagle itself has remained since its establishment in 1936


Neumünster
Scholtz-Kaserne


Grömitz (Schleswig)
 
The Kurpalast Strandhalle flying the swastika and today

Kappeln/Schlei (Schleswig-Holstein)

Kellenhusen an der Ostsee (Schleswig)

 
On the beach during the Third Reich and today

Adolf Hitler Koog
In 1935, the Nazis reclaimed land from the North Sea to obtain Lebensraum for Aryan families. The centerpiece of this new community on Adolf Hitler Koog, now Dieksanderkoog located 62 miles from Hamburg, was a grand hall. Here the concept of Volksgemeinshaft that lived up to Nazi ideals of racial purity and loyal to NSDAP ideology was to be realised. Settlers had to produce documentary evidence that proved their Aryan ancestry dating back to 1800 before being personally examined and hand-picked by senior local officials. Hitler himself was present when the project was completed.
Official groundbreaking to Neulandhalle on the “Adolf Hitler Koog” on 29 August 1935. Hitler, The Gauleiter Hinrich Lohse and other NS-Hoheitsträger lay the foundation-stone during the official inauguration.
The outside of the building sported two monumental figures, one armed with a rifle and the other holding a shovel, staring into the distance. The originals were removed after the war, but replicas will be put back in their original place when the new museum scheduled to take over the site opens.
The frescoes by Otto Thämer remain intact


Mecklenburg 
Rostock 
 
The hauptbahnhof during the Third Reich and today.  The station was first opened in 1886 by the Deutsch-Nordischer Lloyd, operating a combined railway/ferry line to Nykøbing Falster in Denmark. In 1894, the station was renamed to Central-Bahnhof and finally to Rostock Hauptbahnhof at the turn of the 20th century. The station saw further expansion in 1913 and 1922, but was heavily damaged in World War II. 

Greifswald (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern)
The eleven stolperstein in town were apparently targeted by neo-Nazis who removed them on the 74th anniversary of Kristallnacht, November 9 2012. As of today a makeshift sign marks where they were taken.
SA Platz, now renamed Platz der Freiheit

The marketplace then and now. The city survived World War II without much destruction, even though it housed a large army garrison. During the war it was a site of camp for prisoners of Nazi Germany called Stalag II-C. In April 1945, Oberst Rudolf Petershagen surrendered the city to the Red Army without a fight.
 The church and town hall
Anklam
The Steintor on Adolf Hitler Platz. Anklam was practically destroyed by several bombing raids of the U.S. Air Force in 1943 and 1944 and in the last days of the Second World War, when the advancing Soviets burned and levelled most of the town and raping its women. After Prussia and its Pomeranian province were dissolved and most of Pomerania was allocated to Poland under the terms of the Potsdam Conference, Anklam became part of the East German state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. 

Rügen 
 
The island of Rügen is much mythologised in the German national imagination. Frequented in the late 19th and early 20th century by the country’s good and great, including Bismarck, Thomas Mann and Einstein, its chalk coastline was also immortalised by Romantic artist Caspar David Friedrich in 1818. It was here that the sea resort of Prora was created, designed to house 20,000 holidaymakers. Designed by Clemens Klotz, the buildings complex extend over a length of 4.5 km and are roughly 150 m from the long flat sandy beach. All rooms were planned to overlook the sea. Each room of 5 by 2.5 metres (16'5" x 8'3") was to have two beds, an armoire (wardrobe) and a sink. There were communal toilets and showers. 
Hitler's plans for Prora were much more ambitious as seen in this model. He wanted a gigantic sea resort, the "most mighty and large one to ever have existed". At the same time, Hitler wanted it to be convertible into a military hospital in case of war. During the few years that Prora was under construction, all major construction companies of the Reich and nearly 9,000 workers were involved in this project. With the onset of World War II in 1939 construction on Prora stopped, and the construction workers transferred to the V-Weapons plant at Peenemünde. The eight housing blocks, the theatre and cinema stayed as empty shells, and the swimming pools and festival hall never materialised.
The Nazis' touristic policy, 
which prioritized unknown and less busy destinations, was primarily motivated by a desire to keep KdF participants away from places frequented by wealthier private tourists. Even the massive KdF resort complex, Prora, on the island of Rügen, represented another way to steer KdF tourism away from the top German resorts.63 Thus, rather than force upper-class tourists and exclusive resorts to adhere to the oft-proclaimed principles of Nazi egalitarian- ism, the Nazi regime did all it could to avoid damage to the commercial tourism industry and minimize the potential problems that arose when the two groups of tourists came into contact. In sum, then, bourgeois touristic consumption was to continue ‘as normal’, with as few intrusions as possible.
Semmens (112) Seeing Hitler’s Germany 
  During the Allied bombing campaign, many people from Hamburg took refuge in one of the housing blocks, and later refugees from the east of Germany were housed there. By the end of the war, these buildings served to house female auxiliary personnel for the Luftwaffe.
In 1945 the Soviet Army took control of the region, and established a base at Prora. After the formation of the German Democratic Republic (GDR) part of it was used as an army holiday centre. The sturdy but derelict shell of the complex remains as a tourist curiosity. After German reunification, the National People's Army of GDR left the region, and it stood uninhabited until new plans were put in place. The buildings suffered heavy vandalism during this period.
Nowadays, it is still a question what to do with the huge buildings complex, partly hosting some interesting museums. There are plans to turn it into a modern tourist resort but also some skepticism from the locals, who feel that there are already too many tourists in the region, and voices who say that the town's past made it an inappropriate location for tourists.
 
Konzert Platz at Rügen's Ostseebad Binz then and now.
 
The  Königsstuhl then and now
 Schwerin
 
Adolf Hitler Kaserne and today. On May 2, 1945, Schwerin was taken by U.S. troops. It was handed over to the British on June 1 1945, and one month later was in turn handed over to the Soviet forces, as the British and American forces pulled back from the line of contact to the predesignated occupation zones.
 
The Aussichtsturm Kaninchenwerder sporting the swastika and today

The schloß. After the war it was used by the DDR as a college for kindergarten teachers from 1952 to 1981.

 Haffkrug   

 
The beach with the swastika overlooking the strand and today
Güstrow
Adolf-Hitler-Strasse, now Eisenbahnstraße. Hitler spoke in the town June 2, 1932 during his presidential campaign.
The Reichsbahnamt
The main square hasn't changed much
By April 1938 the Jewish community numbered 44 members; on Reichskristallnacht of November 1938 fourteen Jews were arrested; on July 10, 1942 more were arrested and deported to Auschwitz. Elderly Jewish women were deported to the Theresienstadt concentration camp were they died. Only a few Jews from Güstrow managed to emigrate to Shanghai, Australia, the USA, Chile and British Palestine. The Jewish cemetery was set afire and destroyed in 1938. Fifty years later a wrought-iron fence and memorial stone were set up in remembrance. A sign in the pavement of the sidewalk in front of the former synagogue commemorates the November pogroms of 1938:
"28.09.1829  Güstrow synagogue inaugurated.11/09/1938 Destruction"
The rathaus and Pfarrkirche


 The Altes Haus at Mühlenstraße 48, still holding on




During the war several hundred men and women from the countries occupied by Germany were forced into labour for the armament factories of the city and housed, among other places, here in Güstrower Castle shown then and today. During the Soviet occupation the secret police (NKVD) kept a prison here on the Schlossberg where several Güstrower citizens were interrogated and probably executed. In May 1946, several members of the volunteer fire department from the ages of 15 to 23 were arrested, years after the claim of belonging to the supposed "werewolf" resistance movement. They were later taken to the Soviet Special Camp No.. 7 in Sachsenhausen, where several of them died.


Heiligendamm
The ‘white town on the sea’ is Germany’s oldest seaside resort, founded in 1793 by Mecklenburg duke Friedrich Franz I and fashionable throughout the 19th century as the playground of nobility. Since 2003 it was reborn with the opening of the exclusive Kempinski Grand Hotel Heiligendamm which accommodated US President George W Bush on a state visit and hosted a G8 summit in 2007. Perhaps fittingly, it hosted Hitler a few decades earlier.
 
Hitler on the pier, and as it appears today
In Irving describes a number of occasions where Hitler and Goebbels vacationed here, once with Leni Riefenstahl to whom the latter's wife 
told her privately that she had only married Dr Goebbels so as to be near to Hitler. What of Leni’s politics? ‘She is the only one of all the stars,’ wrote Goebbels that summer, ‘who understands us.’Her name often cropped up in the diary, and in mid August she spent the night at Heiligendamm with the Goebbels’ again. (313)
Hitler and Goebbels with the latter's children in 1935. Another instance Irving relates is when
Goebbels and Hitler drove up to Heiligendamm. ‘Putzi’ Hanfstaengl, who had just returned from America, found them there. ‘Hitler,’ he wrote years afterwards, ‘had a flushed, evil look, as though gorged on the blood of his victims.’ It was not a pleasant vacation. The crowds gawped and cheered them wherever they went, and they had to break off their stay. (349)

The resort then and now
Sylt


 The Hotel Stadt Hamburg with swasika flag behind in a 1940s postcard and today, unchanged


Demmin (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania)
The Luisentor on Adolf Hitler Straße and today


During the Weimar Republic Demmin was a stronghold of the nationalistic organisations DNVP and the Stahlhelm. Even before 1933 there were boycotts of Jewish businesses, which drove away most of the Jews and the synagogue was sold in June 1938 at a furniture company, which is why it survived as a building today. On 11 November 1938 thousands gathered in the square in anti-Semitic demonstration after the Reichskristallnacht pogrom had already taken place. In the last free national elections to the Reichstag on 5 March 1933 the Nazis won 53.7 percent of votes in Demmin, well above the national average.  During the war, Poles, Russians, as well as POWs from France and Belgium were used as forced labour in the town.  German troops destroyed the bridges over the Peene while retreating from Demmin during World War II. This way, the advance of the Soviet Red Army was slowed down when they arrived in Demmin on 30 April 1945. During that night and the following morning, Demmin was handed over to the Red Army largely without fighting, similar to other cities like Greifswald. Rapes, pillage and executions committed by Red Army soldiers triggered a mass suicide of hundreds of people and nearly all of the Old Town was burned down. 
On May 1, 1945, hundreds of people committed mass suicide during a mass panic that was provoked by atrocities committed by soldiers of the Soviet Red Army, who had sacked the town the day before. Although death toll estimates vary, it is acknowledged to be the largest mass suicide ever recorded in Germany. The suicide was part of a mass suicide wave amongst the population of Nazi Germany.  Nazi officials, the police, the Wehrmacht and a number of citizens had left the town before the arrival of the Red Army, whilst thousands of refugees from the East had also taken refuge in Demmin. Three Soviet negotiators were shot prior to the Soviet advance into Demmin and Hitler Youth, amongst others, fired on Soviet soldiers once inside the town. The retreating Wehrmacht had blown up the bridges over the Peene and Tollense rivers, which enclosed the town to the north, west and south, thus blocking the Red Army's advance and trapping the remaining civilians. The Soviet units looted and burned down the town, and committed rapes and executions.  Numerous inhabitants and refugees then committed suicide, with many families committing suicide together. Methods of suicides included drowning in the rivers, hanging, wrist-cutting, and use of firearms. Most bodies were buried in mass graves, and after the war, discussion of the mass suicide was tabooed by the East German Communist government. 

Neustrelitz (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania)

The town church on Horst Wessel Platz then and now, Buttelplatz. Here Neustrelitz was one of the cities in today's Mecklenburg-Vorpommern witnessed the 1933 book burnings which took place. 
On January 1 1934 Mecklenburg-Strelitz and Mecklenburg-Schwerin were combined to a single Mecklenburg state, resulting in Neustrelitz losing function of the state capital. The tasks of former state authorities were relocated to Schwerin and the main archive of the former state of Mecklenburg-Strelitz was converted to Schwerin. From 1935 Neustrelitz was the garrison town for the former infantry regiment Döberitz (later Infantry Regiment 48). New barracks were built at the end of the road and coupled with a new Penzliner Offizierskasino on the grounds of the castle. The Domjüch Medicinal and nursing home  was involved in the T4 action which saw the murder of "useless eaters." For the victims, there is still no sign of remembrance, nor for any of the forced labourers and prisoners of war based here during the war. In Fürstensee (now a district of Neustrelitz) there was an air ammunition factory which employed both domestic workers and prisoners of the concentration camp Ravensbrück. 

There is this memorial stone commemorating the former Altstrelitzer  synagogue. From the start of the Third Reich there were about 50 Jewish citizens. Soon several shops sported signs declaring "Jews are not permitted" or "Germans- do not buy from Jews". On the weekends marching columns of the SA would shout in chorus "Germany awake, Jews out." In the early hours of November 10, 1938 - during Reichskristallnacht- the Altstrelitzer synagogue was set on fire. According to witness and local historian Klaus Giese, the truth leaked out about the arson. Three youthful Nazi fanatics had admitted their involvement with support from the SA to create the impression of popular indignation '.   In the morning the next day the Gestapo were arrested eleven Jewish women and eight men, taken to the Altstrelitzer prison and put into "protective custody."  By November 12, 1942 the last two dozen Jewish residents - including urban refugees -. were collected and taken via rail transport to the Theresienstadt concentration camp. After further deportation 85.85% died (36,848 deaths). The ruins of Altstrelitzer synagogue were finally demolished with only the Jewish cemetery remaining. The writer Helmut Sakowski described how "[t]hroughout Mecklenburg little more than five Jews survived the Holocaust. They are unable to maintain all the cemeteries."
The SS training camp near Neustrelitz was where remnants of the 'Charlemagne' Division had been based since the Pomeranian disaster. When the Red Army troops of the 2nd Belorussian Front entered the town on April 30 1945, 681 people committed suicide. The schloss, theater, pavilion on the schlossplatz, alte schoss and the college building were all completely destroyed by arson on the night of April 29-30.


Nordseebad Dangast
At the entrance of Dangast this anti-Semitic sign was erected, reading „Juden sind hier nicht erwünscht“ (Jews are not wanted here)  In the background is the village inn. Today the seaside town instead boasts a large penis on the beach.


Ahlbeck Heringsdorf   (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern)
 
The promenade with same clock but different set of flags
 
The sea bridge with kurhaus then and now


Kühlungsborn (Mecklenburg- Pomerania)
 
Swastikas at the ostseebad Brunshaupten, now merged with Kühlungsborn from  April 1, 1938 with the merger two other municipalities of Fulgen and Arendsee. On the town coat of arms dating from the Nazi era, three flying seagulls on a blue background represent these former municipalities.

Schloß Ludwigslust 
Originally built as an hunting lodge before being rebuilt as a luxurious retreat from the ducal capital, Schwerin, the palace became for a time the centre of government. It was the "joy" of Prince Christian Ludwig, the son of the Duke of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, hence the name Ludwigslust.
Americans ran across the transit camp at Woebbelin near the grand- ducal palace of Ludwigslust. Jews, Poles, Hungarians, Russians and western Europeans had all ended up there after being moved out of their original camps. No one had fed them and there were cases of cannibalism. The soldiers can hardly have helped them much by giving them sweets, but the thought was there. The American commander pursued the usual policy of making the townsfolk responsible. All inhabitants of Ludwigslust over ten had to come and view the dead. Photographs show trenches filled with corpses stretching far and wide before the gates of the Schloss.
MacDonogh (89) After the Reich