Showing posts with label Strasbourg. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Strasbourg. Show all posts

Remaining Nazi Sites in France

Alsace 1944-2015
At the beginning of the Occupation, French leaders expected to pay a price for France’s defeat and accepted German measures with a degree of resignation. The annexation of Alsace and Lorraine surprised few observers. French policemen turned over common enemies and undesirable refugees to Himmler’s ϟϟ. Laval passed legislation that sent hundreds of thousands of French workers to Germany in exchange for a few prisoners of war and short-lived exemptions for select Vichy supporters. 

 Strasbourg
Place Kléber, renamed Karl-Roos-Platz  by the Germans, then and now. After the ceasefire following the Fall of France in June 1940, Alsace was annexed by Germany and a rigorous policy of Germanisation was imposed upon it by the Gauleiter Robert Heinrich Wagner. When, in July 1940, the first evacuees were allowed to return, only residents of Alsatian origin were admitted. The last Jews were deported on 15 July 1940 and the main synagogue, a huge Romanesque revival building that had been a major architectural landmark with its 54-metre-high dome since its completion in 1897, was set ablaze, then razed. 
In September 1940 the first Alsatian resistance movement led by Marcel Weinum called La main noire (The black hand) was created. It was composed by a group of 25 young men aged from 14 to 18 years old who led several attacks against the German occupation. The actions culminated with the attack of the Gauleiter Robert Wagner, the highest commander of Alsace directly under the order of Hitler. In March 1942, Marcel Weinum was prosecuted by the Gestapo and sentenced to be beheaded at the age of 18 in April 1942 in Stuttgart, Germany, his last words being "If I have to die, I shall die but with a pure heart". From 1943 the city was bombarded by Allied aircraft. Whilst the First World War had not notably damaged the city, Anglo-American bombing caused extensive destruction in raids of which at least one was allegedly carried out by mistake. In August 1944, several buildings in the Old Town were damaged by bombs, particularly the Palais Rohan, the Old Customs House (Ancienne Douane) and the Cathedral. On November 23 1944 with permission from the British and Americans, the city was allowed to be 'officially' liberated by the 2nd French Armoured Division under General Leclerc. He achieved the oath that he made with his soldiers, after the decisive Capture of Kufra. With the Oath of Kuffra, they swore to keep up the fight until the French flag flew over the Cathedral of Strasbourg.  Many people from Strasbourg were supposedly incorporated in the German Army against their will, and were sent to the eastern front, those young men and women were called Malgré-nous with some said to have tried to escape from the incorporation, join the French Resistance, or desert the Wehrmacht but many couldn't because they were running the risk of having their families sent to work or concentration camps by the Germans. Many of these men, especially those who did not answer the call immediately, were pressured to "volunteer" for service with the SS, often by direct threats on their families. This threat obliged the majority of them to remain in the German army. After the war, the few that survived were often accused of being traitors or collaborationists, because this tough situation was not known in the rest of France, and they had to face the incomprehension of many. In July 1944, 1500 malgré-nous were released from Soviet captivity and sent to Algiers, where they joined the Free French Forces.
 The wife in front of  le maison des tanneurs and the site during the occupation

Molsheim
 
The Metzig bedecked with swastikas and today  

Mulhouse

Adolf-Hitler-Platz then and now 
After the Prussian victory in the Franco-Prussian War Mulhouse was annexed to the German Empire as part of the territory of Alsace-Lorraine (1871–1918). The city was briefly occupied by French troops on 8 August 1914 at the start of World War I, but they were forced to withdraw two days later in the Battle of Mulhouse. The citizens of Alsace who unwisely celebrated the appearance of the French army, were left to face German reprisals. Alsace-Lorraine was invaded and annexed by France after World War I. Although never formally restored to Germany after the Battle of France in 1940, it was occupied by German forces until returned to French control at the end of the war in May 1945.

 Colmar

The corner of Rue Kleber and Boulevard du Champ de Mars in 1940.
The Germans arrived in Colmar June 17, 1940, taking possession of the city in the name of the Führer as they tore the tricolour of the City Hall's balcony and replaced it with a swastika. The kommandierender des Sturmtruppenregiments Adolf Hitler, Colonel  Koch, and his men thus accomplished the first act: changing the flag and made it clear that Colmar was German again.Within a few days Colmar became Kolmar. By July a working group was being set up to determine how best to start Germanising the town chaired by Stadtkommissar Hellstern and moderated by Albert Schmitt, city librarian since 1924 and specialist in the history of Colmar, whose sympathies for the National Socialist regime would be revealed- under the pseudonym Morand Claden he published in August in the Strassburger Monatshefte an ode to Hitler. In the end, over three hundred street names, places or localities, were changed. Adolf Hitler-Str, now avenue de la République Ahnenplatz. Strasse des 17 June now replaced by another military event- avenue de la Liberté. Schillerstrasse replaced rue Victor Hugo and Robert-Koch-strasse replaced rue Pasteur. Avenue Foch was replaced with the name of another general- Hindenburgstraße.

Kaysersberg


On the bridge at the Château de Kaysersberg with an American cavalryman
Beside the church with an M4 Sherman Tank accompanied by soldiers of the CC5 in the Grand'Rue - Today incongruously Rue de General de Gaulle 

Ammerschwihr



La Tour de Fripons - Then and Now. Ammerschwihr has undergone numerous invasions throughout its history beginning with those of the Armagnacs in 1444, the Peasants' War in 1525, the Thirty Years' War, and then the invasion of the Lorrains in 1652. During the Second World War Ammerschwihr was burned down by the bombings of December 1944 and January 1945 during the Battle of Alsace. 85% of the village was destroyed during the liberation by French and American troops. The town hall, the old houses in the Place du Marché and the Grand'Rue were destroyed. Only the relatively undeveloped Church of St. Martin, the high door and two towers of the fortifications still bear witness to the picturesque interest which this little town was once known for. It was after particularly bitter fighting that the city became French again on December 18, 1944.  The commune was decorated on February 12, 1949, with the Croix de guerre 1939-1945.
 
Looking at the church from the place de l'Ancien-Hôtel-de-Ville
 
The fountain before the war and today

Riquewihr
 
A M4 Sherman next to the Catholic church
 
US M4 Sherman tank in today's rue de la 1ere Armee
Riquewihr under the Nazis
1942
Allied cars on Rue de la Gen de Gaulle. Unlike other villages in the region (such as Mittelwihr, Bennwihr or Sigolsheim), Riquewihr miraculously escaped the destruction of the Second World War because of its cul-de-sac position. This preservation of its ancient heritage makes it one of the most visited villages of Alsace.
German troops in front of the Obertor
 
German PoWs in today's Rue de la 1ere Armee
US Stuart tanks in today's rue de la 1ere Armee
The first Americans arrive in Riquewihr - December 5, 1944
 
The Altes Fachwerkhaus

Bergheim
German POWs marching along the Rue des Chevalieres in Bergheim, January 1945 in front of troops from Combat Command 6

Bergheim German Cemetery
Inaugurated on June 7, 1975 Bergheim German war cemetery, surrounded by vineyards, lies on the Grasberg 337 metres above sea level upstream of the Vosges. Behind lies the Hoch-Königsburg only a few kilometres away. The 15th century fortress was destroyed during the Thirty Years War by the Swedes and from 1901 to 1908 it was rebuilt for Kaiser Wilhelm II. The 5, 308 dead here lie in four grave fields. Originally they were buried in 225 villages throughout the Haut Rhin. The cemetery is four hectares large and is partly limited by a retaining wall. The gravestones of natural stone carry the names and data of three fallen soldiers each. At the top, a six-foot high cross overlooks the cemetery. In the entrance building with a covered entrance hall is an orientation plan as well as an inscription with the number of dead whilst in the room next to the cemetery administrator's office is the book of names of those lying here. Only thirteen kilometres south of the German war graveyard, the French grave service has created the national cemetery Sigolsheim "Blutberg". The dead of Bergheim and Sigolsheim largely fell in the winter of 1944-45 during the fighting in southern Alsace.

Kientzheim
 
Rue principale with the Hôtel de Ville on the left

 
The town church with the plaque commemorating 51 of its citizens who were apparently press-ganged into the Wehrmacht
 
Maison Rittimann then and now
The M4 Sherman "Renard" then-and-now

Le Bonhomme
The rue du 3eme Spahis Algeriens then and now

Illhäusern
The bridge over the Ill, since rebuilt after the war
 
 Remains of an anti-tank emplacement

Sigolsheim  
The liberation of Sigolsheim was particularly dramatic on December 19, 1944 when the village was conquered by the five tanks of 1st Platoon, 2nd Squadron of the RCA first under the command of Camille Girard. But the American infantry had not followed, three tanks were destroyed and 25 men, three were wounded, six captured and mortally wounding Girard.
The church of Sts. Peter and Paul after the battle and today
The door after the battle, still displaying a rare version of the theme in which Christ holds keys out to St. Peter (Traditio Clavium) at the same time that He holds an open book out to St. Paul (Traditio Legis). The bullet holes remain 
 
Rue Principale with a tank roadblock in front 

The Capuchin Monastery in ruins 
Rue Sainte Jacques
   
At the crossroad with the Grand Rue on the left 
Sigolsheim today as seen from Hill 351,  known also as Bloody Hill. Atop Mont de Sigolsheim is this monument honouring the American soldiers who fought for the liberation of Alsace

Jebsheim 
The residence at 7 Grand Rue further up the road that had served as the German Field Hospital. 
For the Americans, the capture of Jebsheim was necessary to protect the north flank of the 3rd Division's advance. With the 3rd Division advancing ahead of the French 1 March Infantry Division on the 3rd Division's north flank, General O'Daniel committed the U.S. 254th Infantry Regiment (part of the U.S. 63rd Infantry Division but attached to the U.S. 3rd Infantry Division for the duration of operations in the Colmar Pocket) to capture Jebsheim. On 26–27 January, troops of the German 136th Mountain Infantry Regiment defended Jebsheim against the advance of the 254th Infantry. On 28–29 January, Jebsheim was taken by the 254th Infantry, French tanks of Combat Command 6 (French 5th Armoured Division), and a battalion of the French 1st Parachute Regiment.
 
St. Martin's church in Jebsheim January 1945
 
The intersection of Rue des Vosges and Grand Rue where the Germans had established a roadblock and, right, a dead German soldier at that same roadblock

 Riedwihr 
The main road into town with some of the houses still recognisable today such as that directly behind my bike. The Second World War caused considerable damage in the village and the bombing of the liberating American army had left a lasting impression on the population which had been forced to take refuge in the bunkers at the entrance of the village. Located on the bank of Wickerschwihr, these bunkers are still visible.
 
A German anti-tank gun January 23, 1945 beside the river outside the town

Ostheim
World War II was disastrous for Ostheim. Located in the “Colmar Pocket” (“Poche de Colmar”) and shelled for almost two months, from November 1944 to January 1945 in order to free the passage over the River Fecht (bitterly defended by the Germans), Ostheim was totally destroyed and its inhabitants evacuated to the surrounding area. The village was awarded the 1939-1945 Military Cross (Croix de Guerre).
 
The houses built since the war now obscure the church, the ruins of which are shown behind the tank.
 
The ruins of the church serve as a memorial to the town's liberators. As with the next photo, a stork's nest continues to be enjoy the same location then and now.
 
Rouffach
A light tank of the 12th Armoured Division in what's now the Place de la République February 5, 1945 and today. The Witch's Tower, built in the 13th to the 15th centuries to serve as a gaol sports a stork's nest in both photos. During the time of Nazi annexation, a Nationalpolitische Erziehungsanstalt (National Political Institute of Education, NEPA, popularly known as Napola) was housed in a former sanatorium of the city from October 1940.

Verdun

The victory monument in June 1940 draped with the German war ensign and today. In 1916 the Germans tried to ’bleed the French dry’ in a battle that lasted for 10 months and which brought France to the verge of collapse. Both sides lost tens of thousands of soldiers. To reduce the pressure on Verdun, a joint Anglo-French attack was launched on the Somme. Tanks were employed for the first time but the offensive was a fiasco. On the first day of the battle alone, the British lost 60,000 men, killed, wounded or missing. By the end of 1916, casualties on both sides were horrendous. 
Between them both sides lost half a million men and how many still lie buried in that charnel soil may never be known. Verdun remained in French hands. For the French it was a magnificent victory, but one that had almost shattered their army. For the Germans it was their first undeniable setback, a heavy blow to the morale of both army and people.
Howard (77) The First World War
German victory march past the Memorial to Victory in June, 1940 and after the Anglo-American liberation of France

Nearby the Monument Maginot, erected to the memory of politician and soldier André Maginot and inaugurated in 1935. Maginot had served in the French army during the Great War and was badly wounded near Verdun – an event depicted in the sculptured group placed in front of the central symbolic shield. Maginot served as Minister of War three times between 1922 and 1932 and was the principal advocate of a new line of impregnable defences against a future German invasion, completed after his death and which bore his name. In the event, of course, the Germans bypassed the Maginot Line in 1940 as shown on the right.

Douaumont
 This nearby village was destroyed during the Great War. It is home to less than a dozen people but is famous for the terrible battle that took place there from March to October 1916 and for its military ossuary of the Great War. It became a target again of the Germans in the Second World War. Today the Douaumont Ossuary, which contains the remains of more than 100,000 unknown soldiers of both French and German nationalities found on the battlefield, stands high above the landscape. It is a monument to the soldiers of the Battle of Verdun of 1916, designed in the aftermath of the armistice of 1918 at the initiative of Bishop Charles Ginisty of Verdun. Inaugurated on August 7, 1932 by the French President, it is made out to be the site of one of the symbols of Franco-German friendship as symbolised by the handshake of François Mitterrand and Helmut Kohl on September 22, 1984. It was classified as an historic monument on May 2, 1996.  Opposite the ossuary, the national necropolis of Douaumont gathers 16,142 graves of French soldiers, mostly Catholic, including a square of 592 stelae of Muslim soldiers.


Munster
President Raymond Poincaré visiting Munster, badly damaged during the Great War, on Tuesday August 19, 1919. The whole region around Munster suffered greviously from the First and Second World Wars; Munster itself had been destroyed by up to 85% during the Great War and the commune was decorated on November 2, 1921 with the Croix de Guerre 1914-1918, and in July 1948 with the Croix de Guerre 1939-1945. the Anglo-Americans allowed Munster to be liberated by the Zouaves of the 9th regiment on February 5, 1945
The church at Lauterbourg, seen from across the road from the hotel where I stayed at whilst watching France defeat Germany in the semi-Finals of the Euro 2016 championships.  It is the easternmost commune in Metropolitan France (excluding the island of Corsica), across from the German town of Neulauterburg. In the crossfire between France and Germany in numerous wars, it had originally been developed in the early 18th century, into a French fortification of the Lauter-line, defined as the border of France in the Congress of Vienna of 1815. On August 13, 1793, it was the site of a battle of the War of the First Coalition.  After the Franco-Prussian War of 1871, Lauterbourg passed to the German Empire. Lauterbourg was now developed industrially and attached to a railway line. After World War I, the town passed to the French Third Republic. In the 1930s, Lauterbourg was in an uncomfortable position between the Maginot and Siegried-lines. Its population was evacuated immediately upon the outbreak of World War II. In May 1940, the lower town was destroyed completely. Part of its population returned to Lauterbourg in 1942. There was an attempt at taking Lauterbourg on December 15, 1944 by the US 79th Infantry Division, who were forced to hold out against Operation Nordwind until the German offensive was stopped on January 25, 1945. Lauterbourg was taken by the French 1st Army and U.S. VI Corps on March 19, 1945 after assaulting the Siegfried Line fortifications in the Bienwald during a week of heavy combat.  The town was rebuilt after the war in a rudimentary fashion.

Boulay (Bolchen)
Shown during the German occupation when Place de la République was Platz des Führers. On August 9, 1870, the Battle of Boulay took place during the Franco-German War of 1870, when the 2nd Hussars regiment was engaged. Like the other communes of the present department of the Moselle, the town of Boulay was annexed to the German Empire from 1871 to 1918. In 1871, the commune of Boulay, or "Bolchen", became a sub-prefecture of Bezirk Lothringen Within the Reichsland Elsass-Lothringen. During the First World War, the Bolshoi conscripts, like most Mosellans, fought under the colors of the German Empire. Boulay became French again in 1918. At the time of the second annexation, the municipality was renamed "Bolchen" and became the seat of the "Landkreis Bolchen". Much of the city was destroyed by the Americans in November 1944, during the progression of Patton's Third Army to the Saar. Thus, the old town hall of Boulay, built in the 18th century, place de la Vendée, was destroyed on 8 November 1944 by an Anglo-American bombardment. The city was eventually liberated by the Anglo-American liberators on November 27, 1944.

1945.Alsace 1944-2015 Au début de l'occupation, les dirigeants français prévoyaient payer la défaite de la France et acceptaient les mesures allemandes avec un certain degré de résignation. L'annexion de l'Alsace et de la Lorraine a surpris quelques observateurs. Les policiers français ont renversé des ennemis communs et des réfugiés indésirables à l'Him de Himmler. Cet article a été publié précédemment sous Q112949. Les partisans de Vichy. Les partisans de Vichy. Les partisans de Vichy. Les partisans de Vichy. Les partisans de Vichy. Les partisans de Vichy. Les partisans de Vichy. Les partisans de Vichy.  Strasbourg Place Kléber, renommée Karl-Roos-Platz par les Allemands, alors et maintenant. Après le cessez-le-feu après la chute de la France en juin 1940, l'Alsace a été annexée par l'Allemagne et une politique rigoureuse de germanisation. Lorsque, en juillet 1940, les premiers évacués ont été autorisés à revenir, seuls les résidents d'origine alsacienne ont été admis. Les derniers juifs ont été déportés le 15 juillet 1940 et la principale synagogue, un énorme bâtiment de renaissance romane qui a été un point de repère architectural majeur avec son dôme de 54 mètres de haut depuis son achèvement en 1897, qui a été incendié, puis a été rasé.  En septembre 1940, le premier mouvement de résistance alsacienne dirigé par Marcel Weinum a appelé La main noire (La main noire) a été créé. Il était composé d'un groupe de 25 jeunes hommes âgés de 14 à 18 ans. Les actions ont culminé avec l'attaque du Gauleiter Robert Wagner, le plus haut commandant d'Alsace. En mars 1942, Marcel Weinum poursuivi par la Gestapo et condamné à être décapité à l'âge de 18 ans à Stuttgart, en Allemagne , ses derniers mots étant: «Si je le dois, je le verrai avec un cœur pur». À partir de 1943, la ville a été bombardée par des avions alliés. Alors que le premier monde n'était pas en perte, les bombardements anglo-américains provoquaient une destruction massive dans les raids. En août 1944, le Palais Rohan, l'Ancienne Douane (Ancienne Douane) et la Cathédrale. Le 23 novembre 1944, avec la permission des Britanniques et des Américains, la ville a été autorisée à être officiellement libérée par la 2ème Division Blindée Française sous le Général Leclerc. Il a fait le serment avec ses soldats, après la prise décisive de Kufra. Avec le serment de Kuffra, ils ont juré le drapeau français sur la cathédrale de Strasbourg. Beaucoup de gens de Strasbourg étaient censés être dans l'armée allemande, contre la volonté du peuple, Ou le désert de la Wehrmacht, mais beaucoup ne pouvaient pas parce qu'ils étaient. Beaucoup de ces hommes, en particulier ceux qui n'ont pas répondu immédiatement à l'appel, ont été pressés de «bénévoles» pour le service avec les SS, souvent par des menaces directes pour leurs familles. Autres traductions de. Après la guerre, les quelques personnes qui étaient en train d'être piégées ou au milieu de la nuit. En juillet 1944, 1500 malgré nous ont été libérés de la captivité soviétique et envoyés à Alger, où ils ont rejoint les Forces françaises libres.   La femme devant la maison des tanneurs et le site pendant l'occupation  Molsheim Molsheim Metzig  Le Metzig couvert de swastikas et aujourd'hui   Mulhouse   Adolf-Hitler-Platz alors et maintenant Après la victoire prussienne dans la guerre franco-prussienne, Mulhouse fut annexé à l'Empire allemand dans le territoire de l'Alsace-Lorraine (1871-1918). La ville a été brièvement occupée par les troupes françaises le 8 août 1914 au début de la Première Guerre mondiale, mais elles ont dû se retirer deux jours plus tard dans la bataille de Mulhouse. Les citoyens d'Alsace, qui étaient incontestablement aux mains de l'armée française, furent confrontés aux représailles allemandes. L'Alsace-Lorraine a été envahie et annexée par la France après la Première Guerre mondiale. Bien qu'elle n'ait jamais été formellement restaurée en Allemagne après la bataille de France en 1940, elle a été occupée par les forces allemandes.  Colmar   Le coin de la rue Kleber et le boulevard du Champ de Mars en 1940. Les Allemands sont arrivés à Colmar le 17 juin 1940 en prenant possession de la ville au nom du guide car ils étaient le tricolore du balcon de la mairie et l'ont remplacé par une crotte gammée. Le commandant du Sturmtrupperregiment, Adolf Hitler, le colonel Koch, et son menonter ont accompli le premier acte: changer le drapeau et préciser que Colmar est de nouveau devenu allemand. Pendant quelques jours, Colmar est devenu Kolmar. C'est la première fois que Colmar a été membre du Régime national-socialiste et a été membre du régime national-socialiste - sous le pseudonyme Morand Claden, il a publié en août dans le Strassburger Monatshefte à ode à Hitler. À la fin, plus de trois cents noms de rues, lieux ou localités ont été modifiés. Adolf Hitler-Str, maintenant avenue de la République. Rue du 17 juin maintenant remplacée par un autre événement militaire - avenue de la Liberté. Schillerstrasse a remplacé le rue Victor Hugo et Robert-Koch-strasse a remplacé la rue Pasteur. Avenue Foch a été remplacé par le nom d'une autre généraliste Hindenburgstraße.  Kaysersberg    Sur le pont au château de Kaysersberg avec un cavalier américain   Mme Sherman Tank accompagnée de soldats du CC5 au Grand'Rue - Aujourd'hui incongrue Rue de General de Gaulle Ammerschwihr  La Tour de Frips - Then and Now    En regardant l'église de la Place de l'Ancien-Hôtel-de-Ville   La fontaine avant la guerre et aujourd'hui  Riquewihr   Un M4 Sherman à côté de l'église catholique    US M4 Sherman tank dans la rue de la 1ere armée d'aujourd'hui Riquewihr under the Nazis 1942  Voitures alliées sur la rue de la Gen de Gaulle  Les troupes allemandes devant l'Obertor   English PoWs dans la rue de la 1e armée d'aujourd'hui  Les chars Stuart de l'armée de rue de la 1ere  Les premiers Américains arrivent à Riquewihr - 5 décembre 1944   L'Altes Fachwerk  Bergheim  Des prisonniers d'anglais marchant le long de la rue des Chevalières à Bergheim, janvier 1945 Devant les troupes du Combat Command 6  Bergheim German Cemetery     Kientzheim    Rue principale avec l'Hôtel de Ville à gauche     L'église de la ville avec la plaque commémorant 51 de ses citoyens qui étaient apparemment pressés dans la Wehrmacht   Le Ziehbrunnen à Place Schwendi   Maison Rittimann alors et maintenant   la M4 Sherman "Renard" puis - et-non  Le Bonhomme  La rue du 3eme Spahis, l'Algérie, à partir de maintenant   Illhausern  Le pont sur l'Ill, depuis qu'il a été reconstruit après la guerre     Reste d'un emplacement antichar  Sigolsheim La libération de Sigolsheim a été dramatique le 19 décembre 1944 lorsque le village a été conquis par les cinq chars du 1er peloton, 2e escadron de la RCA d'abord sous le commandement de Camille Girard. Mais l'infanterie américaine n'avait pas suivi, trois chars ont été détruits, et 25 hommes, trois ont été blessés, six ont été capturés et blessé gravement à Girard.    L'église des Sts. Peter et Paul après la bataille et aujourd'hui   (Traditio Legis) (Traditio Legis). (Traditio Legis). La tragédie de Saint Paul (Traditio Clavium). Les trous de balle restent    Rue Principale avec un barrage routier devant     Le monastère des Capucins en ruines  Rue Sainte-Jacques  Au carrefour avec la Grand Rue à gauche   Sigolsheim aujourd'hui vu de Hill 351, connu comme Bloody Hill . Au sommet du Mont de Sigolsheim, ce monument honore les soldats américains qui se sont battus pour la libération de l'Alsace  Jebsheim  La résidence au 7 Grand Rue. Pour les Américains, la capture de Jebsheim, ce qui était nécessaire pour protéger le flanc nord de l'avancement de la 3ème Division. Avec la 3ème division en avance sur la division d'infanterie française du 1er mars sur le flanc nord de la 3ème division, le général O'Daniel a engagé le 254e régiment d'infanterie des États-Unis (partie de la 63ème division d'infanterie des États-Unis, mais attaché à la 3ème division d'infanterie des États-Unis pour la durée de Opérations dans la poche Colmar) pour capturer Jebsheim. Du 26 au 27 janvier, les troupes du 136e régiment d'infanterie de montagne allemand ont défendu Jebsheim contre l'avance de la 254e infanterie. Du 28 au 29 janvier, Jebsheim a été emmené par la 254e Infanterie, les chars français du Combat Command 6 (5e Division blindée française) et un bataillon du 1er Régiment de parachutistes français.    L'église Saint-Martin à Jebsheim en janvier 1945   L'intersection de la rue des Vosges et de la Grande Rue, où les Allemands avaient établi un barrage routier et, à droite, soldat anglais mort au même barrage routier  Riedwihr   La route principale en ville avec beaucoup de maisons encore reconnaissables aujourd'hui   Un fusil antichar allemand allemand 23 janvier 1945 à côté de la rivière à l'extérieur de la ville  Ostheim La Seconde Guerre mondiale a été désastreuse pour Ostheim. Située dans la «Poche de Colmar» (Colmar Pocket) et bombardée pendant près de deux mois, de novembre 1944 à janvier 1945, pour libérer le passage sur le fleuve (amèrement défendu par les Allemands), Ostheim a été totalement détruit et Ses habitants ont été évacués vers les environs. Le village a reçu la croix militaire de 1939-1945 (Croix de Guerre).   Les maisons ont été construites au siècle dernier.   Les ruines de l'église servent de mémorial aux libérateurs de la ville. Comme pour la photo suivante, un nid de cigogne.   Rouffach  Un navire léger de la 12ème Division blindée dans ce qui est maintenant la Place de la République le 5 février 1945 et aujourd'hui. La Tour des Sorcières, construite au 13ème au 15ème siècle pour servir de prison. Pendant le temps de l'annexion nazie, un Institut politique national de l'éducation (NEPA, populairement connu sous le nom de Napola) a été logé dans un ancien sanatorium de la ville à partir d'octobre 1940.  Verdun  Le monument de la victoire en juin 1940 a été rédigé avec l'enseigne allemande et aujourd'hui. En 1916 , les Allemands ont essayé de «saigner les Français secs» dans une bataille qui a duré 10 mois et quelle que soit la France au bord de l'effondrement. Les deux parties. Pour réduire la pression sur Verdun, une attaque anglo-française commune sur la Somme. Les réservoirs ont été utilisés pour la première fois, mais l'offensive était un fiasco. Le premier jour de la bataille, les Britanniques ont perdu 60 000 hommes, ont été tués, blessés ou disparus. À la fin de 1916, les victimes des deux côtés étaient horribles. Il n'y a pas de traduction disponible. Il n'y a pas de traductions disponibles. Entre eux, les deux parties. Verdun est resté en mains françaises. Pour les Français, c'était une grande victoire, mais qui avait presque brisé leur armée. Pour les Allemands, c'est un très bon travail à faire. Howard (77) La Première Guerre mondiale   La victoire anglaise a dépassé le mémorial de la victoire en juin 1940 et après la libération anglo-américaine de la France     A proximité du Monument Maginot, Le Magyot a été inauguré en 1935. Maginot avait servi dans l'armée française pendant la Grande Guerre et a été gravement blessé près de Verdun - un événement représenté dans le groupe sculpté. Maginot a été ministre de la guerre trois fois entre 1922 et 1932 et le principal avocat d'une nouvelle ligne de défenses inexpugnables contre une future invasion allemande, complété après sa mort et qui porte son nom. Dans le cas, bien sûr, les Allemands ont contourné la Ligne Maginot en 1940 comme indiqué sur la droite.   Douaumont  C'est un village voisin et détruit pendant la Grande Guerre. Aujourd'hui, l'Ossuaire de Douaumont, qui compte plus de 100 000 soldats inconnus de nationalités françaises et allemandes sur le champ de bataille, se situe au dessus du paysage. Le cimetière ici est le premier des Allemands dans le Second.   Munster   Le président Raymond Poincaré se rend à Munster le mardi 19 août 1919.  L'église de Lauterb Ourg, vue de l' autre côté de l'hôtel . Je suis la commune la plus orientale de la France métropolitaine (à l'exclusion de l'île de Corse) , en face de la ville allemande de Neulauterburg. Dans le feu croisé entre la France et l'Allemagne il y a quelques semaines, il a été développé à l' origine au début du 18ème siècle, dans une fortification française de Lauter-line, définie comme la frontière de la France au Congrès de Vienne de 1815. En août 13, 1793, c'était le lieu d'une bataille de la Guerre de la Première Coalition. Après la guerre franco-prussienne de 1871, Lauterbourg passa à l'Empire allemand. Lauterbourg était maintenant développé industriellement et attaché à une ligne de chemin de fer. Après la Première Guerre mondiale, la ville est passée à la Troisième République française. Dans les années 1930, Lauterbourg était dans une position inconfortable entre les lignes Maginot et Siegried. Sa population a été évacuée immédiatement après le déclenchement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. À Maï 1940, la ville basse a été complètement détruite. Une partie de sa population est revenue à Lauterbourg en 1942. Il a tenté de saisir la ville de Lauterbourg le 15 décembre 1944 par la 79e Division d'infanterie des États-Unis, qui a été forcée de tenir l'opération Nordwind jusqu'à ce que l'offensive allemande soit arrêtée le 25 janvier 1945. Lauterbourg a été emmené par la 1ère armée française et le VI Corps américain le 19 mars 1945 après avoir agressé la ligne Siegfried dans le Bienwald pendant une semaine de combats intenses. La ville a été reconstruite après la guerre de façon rudimentaire.  Boulay (Bolchen)  Montré lors de l'occupation allemande à la Place de la République. Le 9 août 1870, la bataille de Boulay a eu lieu pendant la guerre franco-allemande de 1870, lorsque le second régiment Hussars était engagé. Comme les autres communes du département actuel de la Moselle, la ville de Boulay a été annexée à l'Empire allemand de 1871 à 1918. En 1871, la commune de Boulay, ou «Bolchen», est devenue sous-préfecture du district de Lorraine Reichsland Alsace-Lorraine. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les conscrits du Bolshoi, comme la plupart des Mosellans, se sont battus sous les couleurs de l'Empire allemand. Boulay est redevenu français en 1918. Au moment de la deuxième annexion, la municipalité a été renommée «Bolchen» et est devenue le siège du «Landkreis Bolchen». Une grande partie de la ville a été détruite par les Américains en novembre 1944, pendant la progression de la Troisième Armée de Patton vers la Sarre. Ainsi, l'ancienne mairie de Boulay, qui a été détruit le 8 novembre 1944 par un bombardement anglo-américain. La ville fut finalement libérée par les libérateurs anglo-américains le 27 novembre 1944.