Showing posts with label Bielefeld. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Bielefeld. Show all posts

Remaining Nazi Sites in Westphalia (2)

Continued from Remaining Nazi Structures in Westphalia (1)
Wewelsburg (North Rhine-Westphalia)
Original plans of the  ϟϟ-project of August 5, 1940, signed by Heinrich Himmler and architect Hermann Bartels. As a leading architect for the reconstruction of the Wewelsburg Castle for the ϟϟ, Bartels had already been appointed by the Reichsführer ϟϟ Heinrich Himmler in 1933. From 1934 the Wewelsburg was rented to the ϟϟAccording to Karl Hüser, to whom today's authoritative scientific work on Wewelsburg is the "cult and terrorist site of the ϟϟ", the ϟϟ ideologues assumed that a Saxon Wallburg was the first predecessor building at the "time of the defensive battles of King Henry I around 930 against the Hungarians or 'Huns'. Himmler had been drawn to Henry I in 1935, when Hermann Reischle, who represented him as a deputy curator in the "Ahnenerbe", informed him on October 24, 1935 that the city of Quedlinburg was to support the organisation of the festivities for the 1000th anniversary of the death of Henry I on July 2, 1936. He called this celebration "propagandistically [...] a gift of heaven" and wrote: "By their appropriate design, we can achieve with a great blow what otherwise would be difficult to fight through in a propagandistic way in years. For this very reason the decisive participation of the ϟϟ and thus our influence on the preparation and organization of the celebration must be urgently advocated." Shortly thereafter, on November 6, 1935, Himmler took over Wewelsburg and in the next month stated "that the ϟϟ with the city of Quedlinburg should be the sole bearer of the celebrations on 2 July 1936."  
Himmler had been made aware of Wewelsburg by leading Nazis from the region, in particular Adolf von Oeynhausen. Himmler initially planned a training ground for ϟϟ leaders. A small staff of ϟϟ scientists was hired. From the beginning of the war, new plans were directed to make a meeting place for ϟϟ group leaders, especially on special occasions.
Himmler's had group leaders' coats of arms suspended as ornaments in 1937, organised an annual group leadership involving a ritual swearing-in from 1938, and the storage of the ceremonial ϟϟ-Ehrenring ("ϟϟ Honour Ring"), unofficially called Totenkopfring ("Death's Head Ring"). These were not official state decorations, but rather a personal gift bestowed by Himmler. The ring was initially presented to senior officers of the Old Guard (of which there were fewer than 5,000). Each ring had the recipient's name, the award date, and Himmler's signature engraved on the interior and came with a standard letter from Himmler and citation stating that the ring was a "reminder at all times to be willing to risk the life of ourselves for the life of the whole".. It was to be worn only on the left hand, on the "ring finger". If an ϟϟ member was dismissed or retired from the service, his ring had to be returned. The name of the recipient and the conferment date was added on the letter. In 1938 Himmler ordered the return of all rings of dead ϟϟ-men and officers to be stored in a chest in Wewelsburg Castle as a memorial to symbolise the ongoing membership of the deceased in the ϟϟ-order. In October 1944, Himmler ordered that further manufacture and awards of the ring were to be halted and then ordered all remaining rings, approximately 11,500, blast-sealed inside a hill near Wewelsburg. By January 1945, 64% of the 14,500 rings made had been returned to Himmler after the deaths of the "holders". In addition, 10% had been lost on the battlefield and 26% were either kept by the holder or their whereabouts were unknown. As for regular meetings of group leaders, only in June 1941 Himmler summoned a group of ϟϟ officials to explain to them the war aims of the Russian campaign. According to local residents, American GIs took the rings in 1945. In the early years, the Wewelsburg received a completely new interior, partly decorated with ϟϟ ornamentation. The exterior of Wewelsburg was designed "by the removal of the plaster, deepening of the trenches and the erection of a new bridge" to appear more like a mediævel castle. In 1936-1937 and 1939-1941, two large ϟϟ administrative buildings were built on the forecourt. In the village, a villa was built for the chief architect and dwelling-houses for ϟϟ staff. From 1940 on, the plans under the influence of the architect Himmler commissioned architect Hermann Bartels assumed gigantic proportions. On the territory of the village of Wewelsburg, a new burial site was to be built in a three-circle circle with a radius of 635 metres around the old building. The inhabitants were to be resettled. In order to be able to realise the ongoing and planned construction work in the war, the ϟϟ established a concentration camp in Wewelsburg. From May 1939 onwards, the camp consisted of a detainee commando, which belonged to the Sachsenhausen main camp. From 1941, the concentration camp was linked to the main state camp at Niederrhein which operated until April 1943. The remaining prisoners were subordinated organisationally to the Buchenwald concentration camp . Of the altogether 3,900 documented prisoners from almost all the countries occupied by the Wehrmacht, 1,855 did not survive this camp. In March 1945, Himmler ordered the blasting of the Burganlage and the adjoining administrative buildings. The Wewelsburg burnt out completely, as did the guard-house; The adjacent bar building was completely destroyed. On April 2, 1945 the destroyed castle was taken by Americans.
 
After the war and today 

Wewelsburg is apparently the only triangular-shaped castle in Germany, built at the beginning of the 17th century in the village of Wewelsburg. After 1934, it was used by the ϟϟ under Heinrich Himmler and was to be expanded into the central ϟϟ-cult-site. After 1941, plans were developed to enlarge it to be the so-called "Centre of the World". In 1950, the castle was reopened as a museum and youth hostel. (The youth hostel is one of the largest in Germany.) The castle today hosts the Historical Museum of the Prince Bishopric of Paderborn and the Wewelsburg 1933-1945 Memorial Museum.
Himmler with NSDAP-Reichsorganisationsleiter Robert Ley in 1937 and with his architect Bartels
While travelling through Westphalia during the Nazi electoral campaign of January 1933, Himmler was profoundly affected by the atmosphere of the region, with its romantic castles and the mist- (and myth-) shrouded Teutoburger Forest. After deciding to take over a castle for SS use, he returned to Westphalia in November and viewed the Wewelsburg castle, which he appropriated in August 1934 with the intention of turning it into an ideological-education college for SS officers. Although at first belonging to the Race and Settlement Main Office, the Wewelsburg castle was placed under the control of Himmler's Personal Staff in February 1935.  
Alan Baker (98-99) Invisible Eagle: The History of Nazi Occultism
In 1934 Himmler signed a 100-mark 100-year lease with the Paderborn district, intending to renovate and redesign the castle as a Reichsführerschule ϟϟ after Karl Maria Wiligut advised him based on the Westphalian legend of the "Battle at the birch tree". It was to be enlarged to a ϟϟ-Führerschule. Besides physical training, a uniform ideological orientation of the leading cadre of the ϟϟ was to be realised. Courses for ϟϟ-officers in pre- and early history, mythology, archaeology, astronomy and art were intended and, from 1939, the castle was also furnished with miscellaneous objects of art, including prehistoric objects, objects of past historical eras, and works of contemporary sculptors and painters (mainly works by such artists as Karl Diebitsch, Wolfgang Willrich, and Hans Lohbeck—that is, art comporting with the aesthetics of National Socialism). In 1938 Himmler ordered the return of all Death's head rings (Totenkopfringe) of dead ϟϟ-men and officers to be stored in a chest in the castle as a symbol of the ongoing membership of the decedent in the ϟϟ-Order. The whereabouts of the approximately 11,500 rings is still unknown.

Himmler's plans included making it the "centre of the new world" ("Zentrum der neuen Welt") following the "final victory" but only detailed plans and models exist. It was to be finished within twenty years. The complex was to be a centre of the "kind accordant" religion (artgemäße Religion) and a representative estate for the ϟϟ-Führerkorps ( ϟϟ leader corps) If the plans had been realised, the entire village of Wewelsburg and adjacent villages would have disappeared. The population was to be resettled and the valley flooded.
The guardhouse has had its ϟϟ runes chipped out, but in a way that makes them easily recognisable
The North Tower then and now on the left 

 
Hitler Youth leaving the castle in 1935

The Obergruppenführersaal and mausoleum beneath the Obergruppenführer hall then and now
 
Inside the vault at the very top of the roof, a swastika remains. This "vault, built after the model of Mycenaean domed tombs was hewn into the rock which possibly was to serve for some kind of commemoration of the dead. The room is unfinished. The floor was lowered 4.80 metres. In the middle of the vault probably a bowl with an eternal flame was planned. In the middle of the floor a gas pipe is embedded. Around the presumed place for the eternal flame at the wall twelve pedestals are placed. Their meaning is unknown. Above the pedestals wall niches existed. In the zenith of the vault a swastika (which ends run out in an ornamental way) is walled in. Despite its antisemitic connotation the swastika (Hakenkreuz) was also understood as "the symbol of the creating, acting life" (das Symbol des schaffenden, wirkenden Lebens) and as "race emblem of Germanism" (Rasseabzeichen des Germanentums). The vault has special acoustics and illumination.
 
Before and after the war. 

Düsseldorf 
 After the Nazi takeover of power, the first book burning involving "unwanted literature" by the Deutsche Studentenschaft, including books by Heinrich Heines, took place in Düsseldorf on April 11, 1933. The NSDAP Gauleiter Friedrich Karl Florian supported the mass-bearing remembrance of Albert Leo Schlageter at the Schlagter National Monument, which had already been built in 1931, as well as the personnel restructuring of city administration and authorities. Hans Langels (Centre Party), who had previously been hired, was dismissed and replaced by the ϟϟ Group leader Fritz Weitzel. Many regime adversaries were arrested, abused, or killed. Dusseldorf, the senior ϟϟ and police officer West (from 1938), the inspector of the security police and the SD, the ϟϟ upper section of West, was the seat of numerous Nazi organisations and security police institutions. The SD-Oberabschnitt West, the SA-Gruppe Niederrhein, the 20th ϟϟ-Stand, an HJ-Bann (No. 39, Obergebiet West, Ruhr Ruhr region), from 1936 an army headquarters administration and a Wehrmzirkkommando of the Wehrmacht. Among the cultural-political "climaxes" were the propaganda campaigns involving the Reichsausstellung Schaffende Volk (1937) and Entartete Musik (1938). On the November 10, 1938, during the Pogrom Night, the synagogues were burnt down on the Kasernenstrasse and Benrath, the Jewish population of the city was persecuted, and at least 18 persons were murdered. The "Judenreferat" was responsible for the deportation of nearly 6,000 Jews from the entire government district to the Düsseldorf State Police Office. On October 27, 1941, the first train drove to the concentration camps in occupied Poland (see Jewish Life in Dusseldorf) with a total of 1003 Dusseldorf and Lower Rhine Jews from the Derendorf freight station. More than 2200 Dusseldorfer Jews were murdered. In 1944 about 35,000 foreign civilian workers, several thousand prisoners of war, and concentration camp prisoners were forced to work in the roughly 400 camps in Düsseldorf.
The Reichsausstellung Schaffendes Volk (The Reich's Exhibition of a Productive People) of 1937 was held in the North Park district of Düsseldorf, Germany, along one mile of the Rhine shoreline. It was opened on May 8, 1937 by Hermann Göring. Through October of the same year it attracted more than six million visitors. Planned in secret and deliberately designed as a rival to the 1937 International Exposition of Modern Life in Paris, the exhibition was meant to showcase the domestic accomplishments of the National Socialists in new housing, art, and science during their four years in power. The fair's director was Dr. Ernst Poensgen. The exhibition was laid out in four main divisions: industry and economics, land utilisation and city planning, material progress (with an emphasis on progress in synthetics), and arts and culture.
The two huge horses and horsemen sculpted out of granite for the Reichsaustellung Schaffendes Volk. Due to wrangles the exhibition, opened in the presence of Goering, ran with these monumental statues in an unfinished state - the right hand one extremely so. It was only in 1940 that the sculptor, Edwin Scharff, was allowed to complete the project, having suffered a ban at the hands of the regime in the meantime.
The ban came in 1937 when photos of these sculptures, die Rossebändiger, were presented at the exhibition "Entartete Kunst" in Munich. The argument  was that the antique motif of the Rossebändiger - symbol for the rule of the human spirit over the wild nature - had not been implemented appropriately. The sculptures did not express the clear supremacy of man over the horses as the Nazis had intended. As one councillor wrote to Lord Mayor Liederley,"In the midst of the rubbish, the filth, are two photographs of the horse standing pictures placed before the exhibition entrance. For this purpose, one reads that in 1937 the city of Düsseldorf paid Mk 120,000 to the sculptor Edwin Scharff." Whilst this claim was wrong, but did not change much in the unpleasant situation. It was true that the pictures were soon sent back with the diplomatic note that this must have been an "accident", but the scandal did not end there. The main point was that the two horses, which were easily held by the two "horse-riders", did not make a particularly subdued impression. However, the ancient motif, a symbol of the domination of the human mind over the wild nature, demanded, especially in the interpretation of Nazi ideology, the taming of the wild beast by man. Scharff's Rossehalter, on the contrary, expressed neither superiority over the horses, nor allowed the interpretation of the "ancient comradeship between man and horse." The two sculptures depicted carefully-looking, temperamental horses, standing on the right and left in front of the gate, a kind of gate through which the visitor had to go to get to the exhibition grounds. The horse-holders, who, in spite of their muscular nakedness, lacked the heroic Nordic idealisation of other horse-holders, seemed to have fused with the powerful flanks of the animals. The youths did not dominate either the animals or the motif, and even their small size gave no reason to hope that they could be up to the animals. Due to their immense size, which made it difficult to dismantle, the "sculptures created for eternity" based on Hitler's motto: "The greatness of the present will be measured once in the eternity which it leaves behind", remained a very visible landmark at their location. Even Hitler had to pass through the portraits of the great animals, which covered the view of the horse-holders, to get to the exhibition grounds.
The fountains here were the centre piece of the exhibition. This was the so-called Wasserachse, which was the centrepiece of the Gardenschau. In the background, the former Ehrenhalle der Partei which contained the administrative offices for the Reich Exhibition, ticket booths and a restaurant.
The statues carved for the exhibition may still be seen, such as Zimmermann's 'Bauer,' 'Bäuerin,' Hoselmann's 'Falkner' and Zschorsch's 'Winzerin' shown here. There were originally a dozen but some are missing. Known as Die Ständischen (The Estates), representing the professions and classes of the "creative people," they were created by Düsseldorf sculptors Hans Breker (a brother of Arno Breker), Ernst Gottschalk, Willi Hoselmann, Robert Ittermann, Erich Kuhn, Josef Daniel Sommer, Kurt Zimmermann, Alexander Zschokke and Alfred Zschorsch. The figures had actually been removed before the visit of Adolf Hitler, which took place on October 2, 1937, due to a lack of artistic execution.
Four of the sculptures were put up again on the water basin in 1941, and flower baskets were placed on the empty plinths. "The Fisherman" was handed over to the city in 2006 from private ownership, and "The Shepherdess" was set up in front of a children's playground in Benrath. Both came back to their old place in the Nordpark in 2006, the remaining six sculptures are considered missing. On the other hand, the sculpture "Die Sitzende" by Johannes Knubel, which is not part of the "Ständische", remained, which is still in the Nordpark.



The former Reichsmuseum für Wirtschafts- und Gesellschaftskunde (now the NRW Forum) topped with Arno Breker's "Aurora", created during the exhibition. In the summer of 2015 Breker 's sculpture Aurora was restored on the roof from which the "goddess of the dawn" had sat continuously for 90 years. As Breker was the most prominent sculptor of the "Third Reich," such works are controversial to this day.
The Marktplatz during an induction ceremony for 10-14 year old boys into the “Deutsche Jungvolk“ of the Hitler-Jugend in either April 1937 or 1939. 

Düsseldorf's Adolf Hitler Platz with its Kugelspielerin has now reverted back to Graf-Adolf-Platz
Die Kugelspielerin in the 1930s and today

Hitler’s two-and-a-half hour speech to the Industry Club took place here at the Parkhotel on January 27, 1932, probably the most important speech Hitler gave before becoming chancellor a year later, helping overcome the skepticism of many in the business community about the putative socialism of the Nazi Party. The speech, later published as a pamphlet, was carefully constructed to appeal to the economic and political interests of his affluent and influential audience. Hitler emphasised the importance of personality, the distinction of the German nation, and the beneficence of struggle. His critique of democracy and praise of racial and political hierarchy struck a responsive chord. Study of this speech my help to understand why so many of Germany’s conservative economic elite were prepared to accept Hitler’s leadership despite his record and reputation as Jew-baiting rabble-rouser.
Hitler’s major argument was that only the Nazis could prevent the eventual triumph of Bolshevism in Germany. Only the Nazis could provide the Weltanschauung to overcome the debilitating class conflict Marxism had supposedly created, the Weimar multi-party “system” had fostered, and the depression had exacerbated. Only they could restore unity to the nation, and the nation to its former greatness. Only they could hold democracy and its discontents in check. Hitler projected an optimistic attitude of self-reliance that closely corresponded to the entrepreneurial mindset of successful businessmen. They would readily have agreed with him that it was inconsistent and counterproductive to adhere to the “leadership principle,” individual achievement and competition, and private property in the economy, but to favour democracy, the egalitarian principle, pacifism, and internationalism in politics. What democracy is to politics, Hitler warned, communism is to the economy. 
The talk has an inspirational quality that enabled Hitler to evoke enthusiasm even among serious and level-headed people. Hitler took the line that Germany, with its inherent racial value, could solve the problems of the depression without depending on outside help. He portrayed the Nazi Party as motivated by idealism and faith, qualities that alone could save the nation from distributional conflicts and left-wing subversion. He also made frequent use of historical references, invoking the Thirty Years’ War as an example of the perils of national disunity, and the outbreak of the First World War in August 1914 as an example of the unified national purpose that Germany would have to recapture if it wished to regain the power and prosperity it once had. His refusal, however, to blame Germany’s troubles solely on the Versailles Treaty or the world economic crisis was directed against the government of Chancellor Brüning, who contended that German revival could be brought about simply by ending or reducing German reparations payments.
Parkhotel was located on what was then named Albert Leo Schlageter Platz after the adopted Nazi martyr, now Corneliusplatz. The fountain remains in situ. Hitler’s speech was also noteworthy for what it did not contain. In deference to his hosts, a business group that included some Jews and persons of mixed ancestry, Hitler avoided any explicit denunciation of Jews. He knew that the anti-capitalist implications of rabble-rousing anti-Semitism would not endear him to “respectable” conservatives. He did not exercise similar restraint, however, in asserting the superiority of the “white race” and its right to colonial dominance. He apparently assumed that this was an uncontroversial point of view that most of his audience shared. Anti-Semitism was implied, on the other hand, in his reference to the “ferment of decomposition,” a phrase first applied to the Jewish influence in the ancient Roman Empire by the great classical historian Theodor Mommsen.

Another place name that has reverted Albert-Leo-Schlageter-Allee to Königs-Allee 


The war memorial at the Reeserplatz by the architects Klophaus and Tachill, commissioned in 1932 by the Monuments Committee of the Fusilierregiment and inaugurated in July 1939. It shows armed soldiers emerging from the crypt with unbroken struggle. The monument is typical language of the time in which war is glorified and its participants  followers are heroised in death. The inscription on the monument still reads "For the German People's Honour and Freedom" as well as the names of the conquered cities, later engraved on the side of the monument, as a positive expression of the aggressive war policy of Nazi Germany. After the war, the monument was set to be demolished but was preserved on the grounds that it was dedicated to the fallen soldiers and would be "artistically and architecturally" significant.

Schloss Jägerhof in 1935 with the swastika above and today. In 1795 during the Napoleonic Wars the Jägerhof was almost blown up by the French revolutionary troops. During this time however, the Jägerhof served as a military hospital for the French and remained so until the visit of Napoleon in 1811, It was hastily renovated and equipped so that the Emperor and his wife Marie Louise could feel at home during their ​​four-day visit.
During the French occupation in 1925, the building was confiscated and used as the seat of its headquarters.  Due to the considerable pressure of the NSDAP Gauleiter Friedrich Karl Florian, its lease had been illegally dissolved so that on 30 January 1937 the building could serve the Gauleitung which had been sitting here during the heavy air raid of June 12, 1943 in which the castle was severely damaged. It was eventually rebuilt in 1950 by Helmut Hentrich as can be seen in the then-and-now comparison. 
The Nazi eagle over the entrance of police headquarters at Jürgensplatz remains, but is covered by a plaque reading "All are equal before the law." Built from 1929 to 1932, this served as headquarters for representatives of the ϟϟ Upper Section West, the 20th ϟϟ regiment, the 6th ϟϟ Rider standard and the 4th ϟϟ Lieutenant Colonel.
In June 1933, the ϟϟ-group leader Fritz Weitzel was appointed to President-Polizeiprä. Weitzel was had joined the ϟϟ at the age of 22, and was only 29 years old when he was police chief although he was considered in Nazi circles as incompetent.
From 30 January 1933 to 8th May 1945, 7101 men and 851 women imprisoned as opponents of the Nazis. Many prisoners were handed over to the Gestapo for interrogation.
St. Benediktus  behind the ruins of the Hitlereiche guesthouse and now. In the Second World War the first bombs fell to Düsseldorf in 1940. Allied air raids demanded more than 5,000 civilian casualties by 1945. About half of the buildings were destroyed, about 90 percent were damaged. All Rhine bridges, most of the roads, floodplains, underpasses and overpasses, as well as the urban drainage network, were largely destroyed.  The amount of debris was estimated to be about ten million cubic meters. From February 28, 1945, Düsseldorf was encircled for a period of seven weeks to the front town, with American permanent bombardment from the left bank of the Rhine, and in March more and more.  The city was a target of strategic bombing during World War II, particularly during the RAF bombing campaign in 1943 when over 700 bombers were used in a single night. Raids continued late into the war. As part of the campaign against German oil facilities, the RAF raid of 20–21 February on the Rhenania Ossag refinery in the Reisholz district of the city halted oil production there. In April, several Düsseldorf residents of the resistance to lawyer Karl August Wiedenhofen tried to convince police police commander Franz Jiirgens to appoint police officer August Korren to hand over the city without a fight to the Allies. The coup attempt succeeded, but was then betrayed. After the liberation of Korreng by the loyal forces of Gauleiter Friedrich Karl Florian, who shot five of the resistance members (including Jürgens), the two last members of the lawmaker Wiedenhofen and architect Aloys Odenthal managed to escape the American forces arriving in the east of the city and the final destruction of the city by an already prepared large air attack. The Allied ground advance into Germany reached Düsseldorf in mid-April 1945. The United States 97th Infantry Division easily captured the city on April 18, 1945.
The main railway station flying Nazi flags and today, unchanged.
  
The grave in Nordfriedhof cemetery of Ernst Eduard vom Rath, a German diplomat remembered for his assassination in Paris in 1938 by a Jewish young man, Herschel Grynszpan, which touched off Reichskristallnacht- the so-called Night of Broken Glass.

Grevenbroich

The former Gauschulungsburg, now Haus Welchenberg. It was built in 1925-26 on the occasion of the thousandth anniversary of the Rhineland, with the membership of the region was celebrated to the German Empire and Prussia. Already in 1927-28 it was extended by cultivation at a hostel.  The global economic crisis and the resulting political changes complicated the financing of the house; 1932 lived only 20 orphans. After the seizure of power by the NSDAP it became a Gauführerschule. During the war forced labourers were housed here. When the Americans occupied Neuenhausen on 3 March 1945 they took over Welchenberg as the last bastion of the Nazis after considerable damage and was subsequently sacked by the population.  Once there Polish civilian workers and homeless families were provisoanlly housed. By 1949 it was converted into a tuberculosis hospitaluntil the mid-1980s with the establishment of the new Grevenbroicher district hospital.

Moers am Niederrhein
A target of the Oil Campaign of World War II, the Steinkohlenbergwerke (English: coal mine) Rheinpreussen synthetic oil plant in Moers, was partially dismantled post-war.

 
Königlichen Hof then and now

Mülheim an der Ruhr 
One memorial that hasn't survived is this, replacing the earlier one form the Great War shown in the Nazi-era postcard and today.
Military parade at Viktoriaplatz before General Klutman to mark Hitler's birthday in 1939. 
In the last free parliamentary elections on 6 November 1932, the Nazi Party received 28.3% of the vote in Mülheim and thus was the strongest party. In comparison, National Socialism in Germany, overall, received 33.1% of the vote. As in other cities of the Ruhr, the NSDAP was indeed the strongest party, but the Communist Party had 24.27% and the SPD had 13.53%, which means that these two parties of the left, together, had 37.81%, a larger share of the vote. Nevertheless, Mülheim was enthusiastic over the appointment of Adolf Hitler as Chancellor, and celebrated this with a torchlight procession.

Beginning in mid-February 1933, the first houses were searched, especially in the Dümpten neighbourhood, for suspected Communists. At the end of February, 200 ϟϟ, SA, and Stahlhelm members officially became auxiliary policemen of the city, and they arrested many political opponents. In the first local elections after seizing power, the Nazi Party took 45.1% of votes. In the first council decision, Hitler and Hindenburg were awarded honorary citizenship of the city.

On 30 September 1938, the "quasi-expropriation" of the Jewish community in Mülheim occurred. With a council decision, the synagogue at Viktoriaplatz was forcibly sold for only 56,000 Reichsmarks to the Stadtsparkasse. A few weeks later during Kristallnacht on 10 November, the Jewish house of worship burned down. The Mülheim fire department acted only to prevent the fire from spreading to neighbouring structures.

In June 1941, an Arbeitserziehungslager (Nazi labour camp) was established at the Essen-Mülheim airport. It was administered by the Cologne Gestapo. The guards were 26 policemen from the Essen police department, and the work of setting up the camp was carried out by the airport company. By March 1945, an estimated 6,000 to 8,000 people were in the camp, and 130 of the prisoners died.

During the years 1943 and 1944, the city was repeatedly the target of British air attacks. The most severe attack took place in the night of 22 to 23 June 1943. In three closely successive waves, 242 Lancaster, 155 Halifax, 93 Stirling, 55 Wellington, and 12 Mosquito bombers targeted the city. The main objectives were the downtown area, the railway lines, the tube stations, the facilities of Schmitz-Scholl (a manufacturer of Wehrmacht supplies), the Reichsbahn repair shop, and the harbor. The attack caused 530 deaths among the urban population and 1,630 buildings (64% of the city's buildings) were damaged or destroyed. Approximately 40,000 residents had to be evacuated afterward.

Another aerial attack, which actually was on the city of Oberhausen, came on the night of 1 and 2 November 1944. Bombs fell on the Dümpten neighbourhood. There and in surrounding neighbourhoods 33 inhabitants were killed. On 24 December 1944, the last serious attack occurred as a result of Germany's Ardennes offensive, which received air support from the Essen-Mülheim Airport. That airport was attacked by 338 British bombers. A total of 74 inhabitants of the city lost their lives, of which 50 were killed by a direct hit on the bunker on Windmühlenstraße.

The end of the war came to the city on 11 April 1945. To defend against the advancing troops, there were 200 soldiers of the 183rd People's Grenadier Regiment in the Mülheim area who were theoretically supported by approximately 3,000 members of the Volkssturm. In the morning, the first soldiers of the 17th U.S. Airborne Division advanced from Essen to the neighbourhood of Hot in the city centre. In the urban area, only along Kämpchenstraße was there any fighting. A short fight there between some Volkssturm and the Americans resulted in the deaths of two Volkssturm and three GIs. Mayor Hasenjäger handed the city over to the Americans at 9:40 am. A few months later, America was superseded by Britain as the occupying power.
 
The Wehrmacht marching down Schloßstraße, now pedestrianised
 
 First day at school, 1939; note the hakenkreuz in the background
  The Nazi eagle that adorns the Kolpinghaus on Steinkopfstraße which, from 1936, served as the Nazi Party headquarters.
The synagogue before (during an SA demonstration in 1934), during and after Reichskristallnacht November 8-9, 1939
Wallstraße before the war and today
  Bombentreffer at a Flak station on Wiener Platz in May 1944 and the site today
The city under intense bombing October 29, 1944
In his postwar memoir, Hajo Herrmann, flying with the so-called 'Wild Boars' to intercept the enemy bombers, described the situation:
We were not flying above General Hintz's flak but over Cologne-Mulheim, in the area of the 7th Flakdivision, which was illuminating bombers and fighters indiscriminately. They fired on us without paying any heed to our flashing belly and navigation lights. Searchlight beams were concentrated around us, and ahead of us we heard the thunder of our artillery. In the intoxication of that summer night's battle we forgot the countless flak splinters and other dangers that faced us, and we tore into the witch's cauldron hot with anger and spurred with enthusiasm. This was Wilde Sau pure and simple.
However, even without the assistance of the flak, Herrmann still owed a large part of his unit's success to ground-based air defenses. In fact, the wild boar procedure relied completely on either searchlights or flak to provide illumination for the initial intercept, thereby allowing the fighters to press home their attacks. Admittedly, it was the fighters that finished off the bombers, but ground-based air defenses provided the necessary conditions for ensuring this outcome.
Westermann (142) Flak German Anti-aircraft Defences 1914-1945
An example of a single building transformed through war- Freiheit 54 in 1930, 1945, 1995 and today
 
The current 'Kulturbunker' today and in use during the war in 1943

Siegen (North Rhine-Westphalia)
The Siegener Krönchen einst und jetzt
 
Kölner Str
 Zaungasse
What's left of the Nikolai Kirche; the Kaiser Wilhelm Denkmal was destroyed in 1942 
During the war Siegen was repeatedly bombed by the Allies owing to a crucial railroad that crossed through the town. On 1 April 1945, the US 8th Infantry Division began the Allied ground assault against Siegen and the dominating military-significant high ground north of the river. The battle against determined German forces at Siegen continued through 2 April 1945, until organized resistance was finally overwhelmed by the division on 3 April 1945.


Hilchenbach

The Jugendherberge in Hilchenbach, kreis Siegen, then, when it served the Hitlerjugend, and today

Bochum (North Rhine-Westphalia)

Generaldirektor of the Bochumer Vereins, Walter Borbet, an key executive of the United Steel Works, with Hitler at the Werk Höntrop on April 14, 1935 and the site today.
On 9 November 1938, Kristallnacht, the Jewish citizens of Bochum were attacked. The synagogue was set on fire and there was rioting against Jewish citizens. The first Jews from Bochum were deported to Nazi concentration camps and many Jewish institutions and homes were destroyed. Some 500 Jewish citizens are known by name to have been killed in the Holocaust, including 19 who were younger than 16 years old. Joseph Klirsfeld was Bochum's rabbi at this time. He and his wife fled to Palestine. In December 1938, the Jewish elementary school teacher Else Hirsch began organising groups of children and adolescents to be sent to the Netherlands and England, sending ten groups in all. Many Jewish children and those from other persecuted groups were taken in by Dutch families and thereby saved from abduction or deportation and death. Because the Ruhr region was an area of high residential density and a centre for the manufacture of weapons, it was a major target in the war. Women with young children, school children and the homeless fled or were evacuated to safer areas, leaving cities largely deserted to the arms industry, coal mines and steel plants and those unable to leave.  Bochum was first bombed heavily in May and June 1943. On 13 May 1943, the city hall was hit, destroying the top floor, and leaving the next two floors in flames. On 4 November 1944, in an attack involving 700 British bombers, the steel plant, Bochumer Verein, was hit. One of the largest steel plants in Germany, more than 10,000 high-explosive and 130,000 incendiary bombs were stored there, setting off a conflagration that destroyed the surrounding neighbourhoods. An aerial photo shows the devastation.
Another example of vandalism directed towards a relic of the Nazi era was this kriegerdenkmal honouring the fallen of the 4th Magdeburg Infantry Regiment No. 67 of the Great War. Based on a design by the sculptor Walter Becker and inaugurated in August 1935, it consisted of Ruhr sandstone brick, in front of which were two larger than life warriors who symbolised the imperial army and the Nazi Wehrmacht. The monument was an example of Nazi martial arts and his consecration was an attempt to prepare  the population ideologically for future military conflict.
In February 1983, an unknown party sawed through the bronze figures; they have not been replaced.
The Nazi eagle over the entrance to the former air raid shelter at Boltestraße 38, dated 1941-1942, remains, denuded of its swastika. Peukert, in Die KPD im Widerstand (88) reports that in the city of Bochum leading Communists were brutally beaten by the SA, pummelled through the streets and left lying at a street corner. This event led to an "atmosphere of paralysis" among the workers.
 Much of Bochum has been lost, but the rathaus has remained all but intact. It was in Bochum on January 8, 1942 that the state funeral ordered by Hitler for the leader of the war economy and chairman of the Bochum Association, Dr. Walter Borber, took place with Reich Economics Minister Frick conveying the “Führer’s last greetings.”
 The town centre of Bochum was a strategic target during the Oil Campaign. In 150 air raids on Bochum, over 1,300 bombs were dropped on Bochum and Gelsenkirchen. By the end of the war, 38% of Bochum had been destroyed. 70,000 citizens were homeless and at least 4,095 dead. Of Bochum's more than 90,000 homes, only 25,000 remained for the 170,000 citizens who survived the war, many by fleeing to other areas. Most of the remaining buildings were damaged, many with only one usable room. Only 1,000 houses in Bochum remained undamaged after the war. Only two of 122 schools remained unscathed; others were totally destroyed. Hunger was rampant. A resident of neighbouring Essen was quoted on 23 April 1945 as saying, "Today, I used up my last potato... it will be a difficult time till the new [autumn] potatoes are ready to be picked – if they're not stolen." The Allied ground advance into Germany reached Bochum in April 1945. Encountering desultory resistance, the US 79th Infantry Division captured the city on 10 April 1945. After the war, Bochum was occupied by the British, who established two camps to house people displaced by the war. The majority of them were former Polish Zwangsarbeiter, forced labourers, many of them from the Bochumer Verein.  More than sixty years after the war, bombs continue to be found in the region, usually by construction workers. One found in October 2008 in Bochum town centre led to the evacuation of 400 and involved hundreds of emergency workers. A month earlier, a buried bomb exploded in neighbouring Hattingen, injuring 17 people. 
 
The Neues Rathaus and war memorial


Hermannsdenkmal
 
Postcard with the caption roughly translated
Where once the leader of the Germans released the German land from the enemy
Blow Hitler´s victory flags, powerfully into the new age.
During World War I the monument became an instrument of military propaganda, which implied that the current war would end with a German victory like the battle fought by Arminius or the war of 1870/71. In 1915, the number of annual visitors exceeded 50,000 for the first time. In the Weimar Republic the monument became a popular meeting point for associations and societies of the nationalist, monarchist and reactionary right whilst the government kept its distance. The 50th anniversary of the statue's inauguration from August 1 to 19, 1925 thus was an event dominated by the political right. On August 8-9, around 50,000 visitors attended a procession. Adolf Hitler visited the monument in 1926 and after 1930 the Lippe NSDAP used the location for a number of assemblies. After the Machtergreifung of 1933, the Detmold government tried to have the Hermannsdenkmal declared the official Wallfahrtstätte der deutschen Nation (pilgrimage site of the German nation) but was turned down by the Nazi government in Berlin. The Nazi leadership preferred to organise events at locations of its own choosing, with better transport facilities. The monument featured as a symbol in Nazi propaganda material, but as a place for assemblies it was mostly used only by the Hitlerjugend and local branches of the various Nazi organisations. In 1936, the monument had 191,000 visitors. Events in 1935 (the monument's 60th anniversary) and 1941 (100 years since the foundation stone was laid) were smaller than the 1909 and 1925 celebrations and focused on glorifying Hitler and glamorising him as the successor of Arminius.


This monument in North Rhine-Westphalia commemorates the Cherusci war chief Hermann (Arminius) at the Battle of the Teutoburg Forest in which the Germanic tribes under Arminius recorded a decisive victory in 9 AD over three Roman legions under Varus. Of Arminius, Hitler remarked in rejecting "Czech aspirations for the creation of a national army" that
To teach a nation the handling of arms is to give it a virile education. If the Romans had not recruited Germans in their armies, the latter would never have had the opportunity of becoming soldiers and, eventually, of annihilating their former instructors. The most striking example is that of Arminius, who became Commander of the Third Roman Legion. The Romans instructed the Third in the arts of war, and Arminius afterwards used it to defeat his instructors. At the time of the revolt against Rome, the most daring of Arminius's brothers-in-arms were all Germanics who had served some time or other in the Roman legions.
One of my senior's research essay on the actual location of the battle of Teutoburg Forest

Herford
This gravestone prompted controversy recently when it was apparently only now realised that it sported a swastika, a banned symbol here in Germany (despite covering numerous official state buildings here as checking out the link to hakenkreuzes will show). For everyone else, however, up to three years in gaol or a fine is the punishment stipulated by the the Penal Code.
The grave itself is to the memory of Hermann Pantförder, a member of the NSDAP since 1925 who died in a car accident on the way from Bielefeld to Herford. At his death, he led over 1,000 storm troopers and was responsible for a number of NSDAP buildings in the area.
In the end, the matter appears to have been resolved when persons unknown took it upon themselves to partially chip the offending symbol away.
 
The town's railway station was once located on Horst-Wessel-Platz as shown in the period postcard.

Jöllenbeck

 
 The memorial and its eagle have survived intact 

Bielefeld  (North Rhine-Westphalia) 
Reichsminister Dr. Robert Ley unveiling a statue produced by the Berlin sculptor Ernst Paul Hinckeldey to "Bielefelds bestem Sohn" June 14 1939. Horst Wessel was born in Bielefeld September 9, 1907 and became the Nazis' most famous 'martyrs' after his murder on February 23, 1930. As a teenager Horst Wessel was a leader among the youth group of the German National People’s Party, a conservative nationalist party. He would often lead the group into brawls against Communists. But when the organization began viewing him as too extreme he became more involved with the National Socialists and the Stormtroopers (the SA). Eventually in 1926, he abandoned his studies of law at Berlin’s Friedrich Wilhelm University to become a full-time Stormtrooper; as a leader of the SA, he often made speeches and led marches and fights against Communists in the streets. While Berlin was a mainly Liberal and Communist city, with his charisma Horst Wessel began winning over the support and votes of many Berliners for the National Socialists.  He was the author of the lyrics to the song "Die Fahne hoch", usually known as Horst-Wessel-Lied, which became the Nazi Party anthem and, de facto, Germany's co-national anthem from 1933 to 1945. His death also resulted in his becoming the "patron" for the Luftwaffe's 26th Destroyer Wing and the 18th ϟϟ Volunteer Panzergrenadier Division during World War II.After his murder by the German Communist Party in 1930 he became the subject of a major Nazi feature film (Hans Westmar, 1933), becoming the archetypal Nazi hero; much of his legend, a major plank of Nazi mythology, began on the pages of Der Angriff. More about this site at Bill's Bunker
 
The site where Wessel was born, then and as it appears today on August Bebel Strasse (formerly Horst-Wessel-Strasse).
The swastika being raised at the rathaus on March 6, 1933. At 14.30, eight SA men and steel helmsmen raised the black and white and red flag of the German Reich, which had been defeated in the First World War in 1918, and the Hakenkreuzfahne from the windows of the meeting hall of the town council assembly. This action was well organised so that by the early afternoon many people went to Schillerplatz in front of the town hall, because a rumour went around saying something was going on. A short time later three SA trains, half a train of steel helmets and members of the German National Campaign met. They had two flags, wrapped with flags, which were carried to the town hall. This was designed to celebrate with this action the results of the Reichstag and Landtag elections on March 5, which the NSDAP had won as the strongest party. Whilst the Nazis accounted for 43.9 per cent of the national vote, the SPD 18.3 per cent and the KPD 12.1 per cent, here in Bielefeld the Nazis won 37.3 per cent. Compared to the elections in November 1932 it could increase its share of votes by a good 10 per cent. The SPD reached 34.4 percent and the KPD 10.3 percent. Whilst the flags were being hoisted with the right arms raised, Councilor Clara Delius of the DVP protested at the magistrate's meeting before the twelve-person panel and left the meeting. Seven city councils of the SPD and the Zentrum party followed. Clara Delius made no secret of the fact that she was behind the symbolism of the old imperial flag. If only these had been hoisted by steel guards, it would have remained.  However, after the Reichstag election Reichsminister Hermann Göring sent a radio speech to the Prussian presidents, referring to "the hoisting of the Hakenkreuzfahne on state and municipal service buildings". "This intelligible national vote" should be recognised by the police and tolerated. So it was in Bielefeld.
On March 7, SA, Stahlhelm and Deutschnationaler Kampfring raised the Nazi flag over the police headquarters, the Kreishaus, the main station and the Haus der Technik. They burned a black-red-gold flag, the symbol of democratic Germany. The same was repeated on March 9th. This time, the already active "national associations" tried to flag the Eisenhütte, the trade union building on Marktstraße, with black and white red and Hakenkreuz, but came upon a "large crowd of SPD people and trade unionists" and fled. In the early evening hours there was a large crowd again at Schillerplatz. The latest news from the Westphalian newspaper reported: "At about 19.20, the ϟϟ and SA came, bringing along black-and-red, gold, and three-arrow flags, which had been fetched from schools and other public and other buildings. On the Schillerplatz the flags were filled with gasoline and lit. A great multitude pursued the process, and ended the demonstration with the singing of the German and Horst-Wessel songs."
 Klosterplatz at the start of the Second World War when "Fall weiß" started - the attack on Poland. At 4.45 am, the "Schleswig - Holstein" line ship opened fire on Polish fortifications on the Westerplatte near Gdansk, accompanied by the invasion of fictitious raids on German facilities (including the transmitter Gliwitz), which the SS had prepared and which was the propagandistic pretext for a German "counter-attack." Two German army groups with more than 1.5 million soldiers advanced in a pincer movement against the strategically unfavourably postponed Polish army on September 17, 1939. The Soviets invaded Eastern Poland, and on September 27, 1939, Warsaw capitulated unconditionally Poland had no longer existed, the crimes of the armed forces and the police units gave a foreboding of the brutal occupying forces, which had now begun: about 3,000 Polish soldiers had been killed, some 12,000 civilians were killed and an unknown number of Polish Jews murdered. The German Reich had not proved itself as the expected civilized opponent, but as an enemy with the will to destroy.
The headlines and covers of the Bielefeld newspapers presented fake news ("Poland attacked!") as well as printing speeches by Hitler and extensive articles on the German advance and the collapse of the Polish army. Reports of excesses against Volksdeutsche fueled the mood that culminated in drastic depictions of the "Bromberg Blood Sunday," when the murder of some 1,000 Volksdeutsche, which was owed, not least, to the dissolution of an orderly Polish administration and an overthrow to German aggression.
 
The Altes Rathaus from an old print and today 

The Naturfreundehaus when used by Hitlerjugend and today, the swastika replaced with a different device. Kershaw records how the Social Democrats in Bielefeld reported that in August 1941
strong feeling about the ‘provocative behaviour of Jews’ had brought a ban on Jews attending the weekly markets ‘in order to avoid acts of violence’. In addition, there had been general approval, so it was alleged, for an announcement in the local newspapers that Jews would receive no compensation for damage suffered as a result of the war. It was also keenly felt, it was asserted, that Jews should only be served in shops once German customers had had their turn. The threat of resort to self-help and use of force against Jews if nothing was done hung in the air. Ominously, it was nonetheless claimed that these measures would not be enough to satisfy the population. Demands were growing for the introduction of some compulsory mark of identification such as had been worn by Jews in the General Government since the start of the war, in order to prevent Jews from avoiding the restrictions imposed on them.
The Ausstellungshalle after the war, with the roof having fallen through, and its current incarnation. Hitler had spoken here on November 16, 1930.
 
The Alte Hauptpost then and now
 The Musikhalle in Bürgerpark 
Hitler's picture projected onto it in honour of his birthday, April 20, 1933
In 1944, B-17 Flying Fortresses bombed Bielefeld on September 20 (the gas works) & October 7, and the RAF bombed on December 4/5. In 1945, B-17s bombed the nearby Paderborn marshalling yard, the "Schildesche Railway Viaduct" was bombed on January 17, 1945, and on March 14 the Grand Slam bomb was used for the very first time against the viaduct. American troops entered the city in April 1945.  Founded in 1867 as a Bielefeld sewing machine repair company, AG Dürkoppwerke employed 1,665 people in 1892; it used Waffenamt code "WaA547" from 1938 to 1939 as the Dürkopp-Werke, and merged with other Bielefeld companies to form Dürkopp Adler AG in 1990.  Due to the presence of a number of barracks built during the 1930s and its location next to the main East-West Autobahn in northern Germany, after World War II Bielefeld became a headquarters town for the fighting command of the British Army of the Rhine - BAOR (the administrative and strategic headquarters were at Rheindahlen near the Dutch border). Until the 1980s there was a large British presence in the barracks housing the headquarters of the British First Corps and support units, as well as schools, NAAFI shops, officers' and sergeants' messes and several estates of married quarters. The British presence was heavily scaled back after the reunification of Germany and most of the infrastructure has disappeared.
Nazi flags and eagles covering the Theatre in 1936, the year Nazi party member Alfred Kruchen took over the directorship.
The Dessauer shoeshop on Niedernstraße 18 was, among other Jewish-owned shops, targeted between October 11-13 1938 by Nazis. Here the letters of Dessauer have been crossed out to leave the word "sau"- pig along with ant-Semitic slogans written over the windows. 
The Bielefeld Central Station bedecked in Nazi flags in June 1939. From 1941 Jews were deported via the freight yard behind. On July 10, 1942, at least 78 men, women and children were probably deported and murdered at Auschwitz. By far the largest deportation took place on July 31, 1942 when 590 Jews were sent from Bielefeld to the Theresienstadt concentration camp.

Münster (North Rhine-Westphalia)
 Prinzipalmarkt festooned with swastikas and today. 

In the 1940s The Bishop of Münster, Cardinal Clemens August Graf von Galen, was one of the most prominent critics of the Nazi government. In retaliation for his success (The New York Times described Bishop von Galen as "the most obstinate opponent of the National Socialist anti-Christian program", Münster was heavily garrisoned during World War II, and five large complexes of barracks are still a feature of the city. Münster was the headquarters (Hauptsitz) for the 6th Military District (Wehrkreis) of the German Wehrmacht, under the command of Infantry General (General der Infanterie) Gerhard Glokke. Originally made up of Westphalia and the Rhineland, after the Battle of France it was expanded to include the Eupen - Malmedy district of Belgium. The headquarters controlled military operations in Münster, Essen, Düsseldorf, Wuppertal, Bielefeld, Coesfeld, Paderborn, Herford, Minden, Detmold, Lingen, Osnabrück, Recklinghausen, Gelsenkirchen, and Cologne. Münster was the home station for the VI and XXIII Infantry Corps (Armeekorps), as well as the XXXIII and LVI Panzerkorps. Münster was also the home of the 6th, 16th and 25th Panzer Division; the 16th Panzergrenadier Division; and the 6th, 26th, 69th, 86th, 106th, 126th, 196th, 199th, 211th, 227th, 253rd, 254th, 264th, 306th, 326th, 329th, 336th, 371st, 385th, and 716th Infantry Divisions (Infanterie-division).  A secondary target of the Oil Campaign of World War II, Münster was bombed on October 25, 1944 by 34 diverted B-24 Liberator bombers, during a mission to a nearby primary target, the Scholven/Buer synthetic oil plant at Gelsenkirchen. About 91% of the Old City and 63% of the entire city was destroyed by Allied air raids. The US 17th Airborne Division, employed in a standard infantry role and not in a parachute capacity, attacked Münster with the British 6th Guards Tank Brigade on 2 April 1945 in a ground assault and fought its way into the contested city centre, which was cleared in urban combat on the following day.
 
Nazi eagle actually commandeered to decorate a Munster shopping centre.
 
At the top of the city's Hauptklinik at 56-58 Esmarchstrasse is a Nazi eagle with the caduceus replacing the swastika.The relief itself dates from 1937-8 and the warriors on the Tympanonrelief created by Hermann Kissenkötter are now lacking their weapons.

 Gremmendorf (Munster)
The Fliegernachrichtenkaserne, later taken over by the British who renamed it the York barracks, replacing the hakenkreuz with the holy Union flag. The reichsadler remains however, albeit in a dilapidated state  


Bad Hamm

The front of the Kurhauses Bad Hamm, the swastika- bedecked Badehaus now gone. 
The Schützenhof, acquired in 1931 by the town, served as a venue for political events during the Nazi era. On March 13, 1933, ϟϟ-Sturmbann II / 30 organised its first 'comradely evening' which included cultural performances under the direction of the ϟϟ Untersturmbannführer Ronnenbach. Towards the end of the Second World War, the bathhouse was misused, and finally the whole bathing business was shut down. The bathhouse and the lodge house were used to accommodate homeless people, especially children. At the time, the community centre provided for the homeless in the Badehaus and the Sylverberg. The northern transverse wing of the Kurhaus, located at the brine bath, was affected by war damage by about 25%.  During the war 55 air raids destroyed nearly 60% of the old city and left only a few historical buildings.  The suburbs of Hamm "had been almost razed to the ground. People who had fled from collapsing bunkers and had got stuck in huge crowds in the streets had burning phosphorus poured over them, rushed into the next air raid shelter and were shot in order not to spread the flames."


Übach-Palenberg
The town hall in September 1938 adorned with the face of Hitler and flanked by swastikas and today. In 1935, the municipality of Übach-Palenberg was founded by the municipalities of Frelenberg, Scherpenseel and Übach. In 1936, the municipal administration took over 14 Übach-Palenberger Jews, whose traces were lost in the following years. Two women married to non-Jews survived the Holocaust, whilst the Jew Baruch Dellman was expelled to Poland in 1938 and was murdered in Sachsenhausen concentration camp in 1940. During the war on September 9, 1940, Heinrich Himmler ordered the regional arrangement of brothels for municipalities in which more than a hundred foreign workers were placed. The Übach-Palenberger mayor Carl as well as the collier Carolus Magnus tried to prevent this but their efforts were unsuccessful. In 1941 a brothel was set up in a wooden barrack with three Polish prostitutes. The use of the brothel, which was subsequently dissolved, also declined with the withdrawal of coal. The liberated barracks were then occupied with Soviet prisoners of war.  After the American invasion, the population was initially relieved. The end of the fighting was dated to the church on 5 October 1944. When an American infantry unit was preparing for an invasion of the Cologne area for the following day, an Austrian attack on Antwerp was made into a double house In the hill road. The damage in the largely spared settlement until this time by war effects was devastating. The number of deaths was never known.

Werne (North Rhine-Westphalia)

The war memorial during the Third Reich and what's left of it today. During the war, 471 citizens of Werne died and 500 more disappeared without trace. The town was forced to accommodate nearly 4,000 refugees.